• Saturday, Feb 22, 2020
  • Last Update : 04:35 pm

BCB excludes six players from central contracts list

  • Published at 07:16 pm April 18th, 2018
  • Last updated at 09:20 pm April 18th, 2018
BCB excludes six players from central contracts list
Pacer Taskin Ahmed, batsman Sabbir Rahman, opener Soumya Sarkar, all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain, pacer Kamrul Islam Rabbi and top-order batsman Imrul Kayes were excluded by the BCB from the central contracts list. BCB president Nazmul Hasan informed the board's decision following its third meeting at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Wednesday. The BCB boss further informed that the national selection panel has been asked to name three rookie players who can be brought into the central contracts list. The payment structure however, has not yet been revised. The Bangladesh cricketers’ salary was last increased during renewal of the central contracts last year – by almost 60%. As per the payroll set by the BCB last year - A+ category players are entitled to a monthly salary of Tk4 lakhs, category A Tk3 lakhs, category B Tk2 lakhs, category C Tk1.5 lakhs and category D Tk1 lakh. "The board has decided to have 10 centrally contracted national cricketers. The decision was based on recommendation from the national selection panel. However, we have asked the selectors to make it a list of 13 by including three rookie (Grade D) players," informed Nazmul to the media. Exclusion of the six cricketers from the central contracts list was based on performance, informed Nazmul. Taskin, Sabbir and Soumya have been at the centre of discussions over their respective pale patches while Imrul, Mosaddek and Kamrul have been irregular in the national team. "The exclusion was purely based on their performances in recent times and was decided by the BCB cricket operations committee and the selectors. They thought the cricketers should only be awarded central contracts based on their performance for the team," Nazmul explained.

Also read: BCB mulling decreasing central contract list

Meanwhile, the BCB has also decided to assess the payroll structure of the centrally contracted first-class cricketers. The board has asked the financial committee to assess and recommend the board of the feasibility factor. "It is because the board cannot make a decision by its own, we first need to know how much we should be able to pay," said Nazmul. It is understood that only those cricketers, apart from the ones in the national team, who played at least 75% of first-class cricket last season will be brought under the first-class contracts list. The first-class cricketers were first introduced to the central contracts in 2012. Almost 100 players were brought under the BCB’s contracts list in order to help decentralise cricket. However, as the years progressed, the number of players under that contracts list gradually decreased. That number may go down to zero next season. Central contracts list Tamim Iqbal, Shakib al Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman and Mahmudullah Players excluded from central contracts list Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Imrul Kayes and Mosaddek Hossain