• Tuesday, Dec 07, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:45 pm

Abahani, Sheikh Jamal eye DPL title

  • Published at 12:21 am April 5th, 2018
Abahani, Sheikh Jamal eye DPL title
Abahani Limited will look for a victory in order to avoid all equations and lift the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League season 2017-18 trophy when they take on Legends of Rupganj in the 16th and final round Thursday. Abahani and Rupganj will lock horn at BKSP. On the other hand, Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club are also in the running for the DPL title but for their ambitions to be realised they must win against surprise package Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity and hope for an Abahani loss. Under such a situation, Sheikh Jamal will finish with equal points in the points table alongside Abahani but the former will claim the title thanks to a better head to head equation. With 11 wins and 22 points, Abahani are at the top of the 12-team standing while Rupganj and Sheikh Jamal jointly share second spot with 20 points each. Rupganj can go equal with Abahani but owing to an inferior head to head record, the former have no hope of clinching the title, even if they win and Sheikh Jamal lose. In that case, the Sky Blues will be crowned champion. Abahani off-spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz is eagerly waiting for the game as a win will mean the cricketer will get his first taste as Dhaka League champion.

Also read: Brothers avoid DPL drop by skin of their teeth

"Cricket itself is a pressure game. The game (Thursday) is a big opportunity for us. We will finish as champion if we win the game. I have never won a Dhaka League title so I am eager for the game. I will put in all my effort to win the game," said Miraz to the media at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Wednesday. Abahani this season have been the strongest side on pen and paper, having roped in at least eight current national cricketers in the shape of Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Taskin Ahmed, Miraz, Anamul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Nasir Hossain, Sanjamul Islam and Mosaddek Hossain. Although Abahani made a flying start to the competition, they will rue the fact that they had to wait till the last round to seal the championship. "At the end of the day this is what cricket is. There are many national cricketers in the side but that does not mean we cannot lose matches. Yes, we should have ensured the championship by now. With that said, there is also the excitement of the tournament going into the last round. The game (Thursday) would not have been this exciting if we had already won the tournament," said Miraz. In the third game of the day, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club will take on holder Gazi Group Cricketers at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Cricket Stadium in Fatullah. Doleshwar and Gazi are sitting in fourth and fifth respectively in the table so their game Thursday will only be a mere formality. THURSDAY'S MATCHES Khelaghar v Sk Jamal, Mirpur Doleshwar v Gazi Group, Fatullah Abahani v Rupganj, BKSP 3 All the games will start at 9am   SUPER LEAGUE Teams M W L T Pts NRR Abahani 15 11 4 0 22 0.868 Rupganj 15 10 5 0 20 0.507 Sk Jamal 15 10 5 0 20 0.251 Doleshwar 15 7 7 1 15 -0.157 Gazi Group 15 7 8 0 14 -0.254 Khelaghar 15 7 8 0 14 -0.381
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail