• Saturday, Oct 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:45 am

11th Ulab Fair Play Cup: ULAB, Bangladesh University into grand finale

  • Published at 09:40 pm March 27th, 2018
  • Last updated at 09:43 pm March 27th, 2018
11th Ulab Fair Play Cup: ULAB, Bangladesh University into grand finale
University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh and Bangladesh University set up a final date with each other after winning their respective semi-finals against European University of Bangladesh and Prime University accordingly in Dhaka Tuesday. In the first match of the day, EUB, asked to bat first, scored 128 runs losing all of their wickets in 19.1 overs. In reply, ULAB reached their target for the loss of four wickets in 17.2 overs. ULAB’s Shariful Islam bagged four wickets and was adjudged player of the match. In the second game later in the day, BU, batting first, posted 154/8 in their stipulated 20 overs. In pursuit of 155, PU were bundled out for only 96 in 16.5 overs. BU’s Shafiqul Islam, who was named man of the match, notched five wickets to guide his side to a comprehensive 58-run victory.

Also read: BU, PU advance to ULAB Fair Play Cup semis

The grand finale will be held Thursday at the same venue. In the third place playoff Wednesday, EUB and PU will face off against each other at 10am. A total of 12 private universities took part in the tournament – North South University, BRAC University, Southeast University, Daffodil International University, PU, Green University Bangladesh, EUB, Independent University Bangladesh, Stamford University Bangladesh, BU, Uttara University and host ULAB. [caption id="attachment_255555" align="aligncenter" width="800"] BU's Shafiqul Islam was named the man of the match after their semi-final win over PU ULAB[/caption] SEMI-FINALS ULAB 133/4 in 17.2 overs (Sabit 68, Noman 33) beat EUB 128 in 19.1 overs (Moin 39, Shariful 3/14) by six wickets PU 96 in 16.5 overs (Imran 43, Shafiqul 5/20) lost to BU 154/8 (Zahirul 50, Khalid 3/8) by 58 runs   WEDNESDAY'S MATCH EUB v PU, Mohammadpur (3rd place playoff) The game will start at 10am