• Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:17 am

Independence Day celebrated at SBNCS

  • Published at 08:24 pm March 26th, 2018
  • Last updated at 07:47 am March 27th, 2018
Independence Day celebrated at SBNCS
Former Bangladesh cricketers celebrated the Independence Day with a pre-scheduled exhibition match between themselves at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur Monday. The former Bangladesh players were divided into two groups - Bangladesh Red and Bangladesh Green. The game started at around 11am and Bangladesh Green captain Athar Ali Khan elected to bat first. Bangladesh Green scored 166 runs in their stipulated 20 overs, losing seven wickets. Rafiqul Islam scored 34, Harunur Rashid and Jahangir Alam made 27 each while Mehrab Hossain Opee scored 14. Khaled Mahmud Sujon and Zakir Hasan took three wickets each for Bangladesh Red. [caption id="attachment_255337" align="aligncenter" width="800"] Mushfiqur Rahim waves the Bangladesh flag Dhaka Tribune[/caption] In reply, Bangladesh Red reached their 167-run target with 11 balls and six wickets to spare. Hannan Sarkar scored 61 off just 24 balls, featuring 10 fours and a couple of sixes. Minhajul Abedin Nannu made 31 while captain Akram Khan scored 21. Sujon was unbeaten on 28. The exhibition match was organised to mark the 48th Independence Day of Bangladesh and the environment at the home of cricket in Mirpur was festive as former players and their families wholly enjoyed their time. National cricketers Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Nurul Hasan were also present on the occasion. BRIEF SCORE Bangladesh Red 167/4 in 18.1 overs (Hannan 61, Nannu 31, Sujon 28*, Akram 21, Bashar 13) beat Bangladesh Green 166/7 (Rafiqul 34, Harunur 27*, Jahangir 27, Hasanuzzaman 22, Mehrab 14) by six wickets Bangladesh Green Mehrab Hossain, Jahangir Alam, Harunur Rashid, Rafiqul Islam, Hasanuzzaman, Mushfiqur Rahman, Morshed Ali, Alamgir Kabir, Anwar Hossain, Shafiuddin Ahmed, Faisal Hossain, Saifullah Khan, Mizanur Rahman, Faruk Ahmed, Raqibul Hasan and Wahidul Ghani (Coach) Bangladesh Red Habibul Bashar, Hannan Sarkar, Naimur Rahman, Akram Khan, Minhajul Abedin, Khaled Mahmud, Enamul Haque, Mohammad Ali, Zakir Hasan, Talha Jubair, Fahim Muntasir, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Salim, Manjural Islam, Azhar Hossain (Manager) and Golam Faruque (Coach)