• Wednesday, Dec 01, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:14 pm

Tigers return as DPL Super League begins Saturday

  • Published at 08:00 pm March 23rd, 2018
  • Last updated at 08:01 pm March 23rd, 2018
Tigers return as DPL Super League begins Saturday
The top six teams in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2017-18 season will start the battle for the championship from Saturday with the tournament getting into the Super League phase. Abahani Limited, Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity, Legends of Rupganj, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and holder Gazi Group Cricketers were the six teams in the 12-team points table after the first phase of the tournament, and qualified for the title run-in. On the first day of the Super League, sixth placed Gazi Group will take on table-topper Abahani at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. With eight wins in 11 matches, Abahani are at the top of the standing and will now be boosted with the national cricketers joining the team at the crucial point of the season. Gazi Group however, have not been able to live upto their reputation as defending champion, having won six out of 11 games in the first phase to make it to the Super League as the sixth team in the table.

Also read: Khelaghar’s Menaria reviving himself in DPL

At BKSP ground 3, jointly second placed Rupganj will lock horn with fifth placed Sheikh Jamal. Rupganj are sharing second spot with surprise package Khelaghar with seven wins in the bag while Sheikh Jamal progressed to the Super League as the fifth team after winning their last match in the first phase. Meanwhile, the surprise package of the season – Khelaghar - will take on Prime Doleshwar in Fatullah’s Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Cricket Stadium. With seven wins in the first stage of the premier 50-over domestic tournament of the country, Khelaghar had stunned some established opponents. The side on pen and paper were considered one of the weakest in the tournament and many said they would face a tough time to dodge relegation. However, with some jaw dropping wins against the top teams, the side finished third in the points table with seven wins, and left reputed teams like Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited, Prime Bank Cricket Club and Brothers Union in agony. Although the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis had planned to telecast the Super League matches live, no interest was shown by the local television channels, informed CCDM coordinator Amin Khan. “We approached the television channels ever since the start of the tournament this season so that we can have some of the Super League matches live. But there is not much development to be honest,” said Amin to the media earlier this week. SATURDAY'S MATCHES Abahani v Gazi Group, Mirpur Khelaghar v Doleshwar, Fatullah Rupganj v Sk Jamal, BKSP 3 All the games will start at 9am   POINTS TABLE Teams M W L T Pts NRR Abahani 11 8 3 0 16 0.801 Rupganj 11 7 4 0 14 0.413 Khelaghar 11 7 4 0 14 -0.178 Doleshwar 11 6 4 1 13 -0.153 Sk Jamal 11 6 5 0 12 0.239 Gazi Group 11 6 5 0 12 -0.014
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail