• Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:34 pm

Special national cricket camp starts Friday

  • Published at 08:20 pm February 22nd, 2018
  • Last updated at 06:44 pm February 23rd, 2018
Special national cricket camp starts Friday
A special national cricket camp featuring 14 pacers and five batsmen will begin at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Friday. The cricketers will undergo intensive training under the supervision of national pace bowling coach Courtney Walsh before Bangladesh prepare for their next international assignment - the Nidahas Series 2018 in Sri Lanka. Bangladesh will face India and host Sri Lanka in the tri-nation T20I series, scheduled to start from March 6 in Colombo. The Bangladesh Cricket Board came to the decision to have the special camp following a meeting at board president Nazmul Hasan's corporate office Wednesday involving the national selectors, Test and T20I captain Shakib al Hasan, technical director Khaled Mahmud and Walsh. The meeting was held to find the facts behind Bangladesh's recent poor performance in all three formats at home.

Also read: BCB boss Nazmul regrets letting players run team

Bangladesh, from January 15 to February 18, lost the tri-series ODI final, two-match Test and T20I series - all against Sri Lanka. The performance, especially from the pace bowlers, was not taken lightly by the board who had given charge to the cricketers to run the national dressing under the supervision of Mahmud. The national team has been missing a coach since Chandika Hathurusingha resigned from the post in November last year. The BCB has been looking for a head coach since then. The chance of getting a new coach for the Tigers before the Nidahas Trophy is very much less. Special practice camp Pacers Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ebadat Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Abul Hasan Raju, Mohammad Robiul, Abu Haider Rony, Khaled Ahmed, Saifuddin, Qazi Onik, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Hossain Ali Batsmen Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Ariful Haque, Zakir Hasan and Sabbir Rahman