• Saturday, Dec 04, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:17 pm

Nazmul replaces Shakib for first Sri Lanka T20I

  • Published at 08:06 pm February 13th, 2018
  • Last updated at 08:07 pm February 13th, 2018
Nazmul replaces Shakib for first Sri Lanka T20I
Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu was announced as the replacement for Bangladesh T20I captain Shakib al Hasan for the first of two T20Is against Sri Lanka, scheduled for Thursday. The BCB through a press release Tuesday officially ruled out Shakib from the first game of the series, to be held at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. The BCB informed that the ace all-rounder has not sufficiently recovered from a finger injury sustained during the final of the tri-nation ODI series last month. On the other hand, middle-order batsman Mahmudullah was named the captain in Shakib’s absence. It was expected that opener Tamim Iqbal would get the responsibility to lead the Tigers, given that the opening batsman is the vice-captain of the Bangladesh T20I side. The BCB president Nazmul Hasan during a press conference in December last year, where he had declared Shakib as the new Test captain in place of wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, had announced Tamim as the Bangladesh T20I vice-captain.

Also read:  Sri Lanka are favourite, says Perera

It is a basic practice to see the vice captain get the charge of the team in the absence of the captain, like it had happened with Mahmudullah in the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh Test vice-captain Mahmudullah was given the charge of the Test team after Shakib was ruled out from the series. The decision has one again raised eyebrows with regards to the BCB and its policies. Meanwhile, the inclusion of Nazmul was based on the left-arm spinner’s performance in the Bangladesh Premier League T20 2017. Nazmul played for BPL 2017 champion Rangpur Riders and caught the attention with his 12 wickets in 10 innings at an economy rate of 6.53. Nazmul’s inclusion in the Bangladesh T20I squad means the side now have a total of six uncapped cricketers in the 15-member dressing room. Ariful Haque, Zakir Hasan, Abu Jayed Rahi, Afif Hossain and Mehedi Hasan are the other five cricketers in the Bangladesh T20I squad for the series. Squad Mahmudullah (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Saifuddin, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Hoque, Mehedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Islam Apu
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail