• Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:41 pm

BCL to start from January 9

  • Published at 08:25 pm January 2nd, 2018
  • Last updated at 09:17 pm January 2nd, 2018
BCL to start from January 9
The sixth edition of the Bangladesh Cricket League is all set to start from next Tuesday after the Bangladesh Cricket Board tournament committee approved requests of the franchises to delay the start by four days. The franchise-based first-class cricket tournament of the country was initially scheduled to start Friday. The decision was made in a meeting between the BCB tournament committee and the four franchises Monday. The national cricketers will miss the first three rounds of the tournament due to their engagement in the tri-nation ODI series, comprising Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, followed by the Test and T20I series against the Lankans. The nationally contracted cricketers who are not selected for the upcoming series' will have to report to their respective BCL sides. The national selection panel has already chalked out the four squads for the BCL this season and will put the finishing touch after declaration of the ODI squad for the tri-series. It is understood that the BCB is likely to announce the squad for the tri-nation series Sunday. The tri-series is to set to start on January 15. All the matches will be held at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. This year the BCL will be held in two phases. After the first three rounds, the tournament will be stopped for the Dhaka Premier League. The remaining three rounds will be held after the Dhaka League. The schedule for Dhaka League, the premier 50-over cricket tournament of the country, is yet to be set by the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis. The first two rounds of the BCL this year will be held at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium and BKSP. The third round matches of the tournament will be played at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi and in Khulna’s Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium. BCB has also decided to change the points system in the league. To increase competition, a team can obtain bonus points from runs and wickets. BCB North Zone are the defending champion of the tournament.