• Wednesday, Sep 30, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:32 am

Supreme Khulna seal hat-trick of NCL titles

  • Published at 09:19 pm December 23rd, 2017
Supreme Khulna seal hat-trick of NCL titles
Khulna clinched hat-trick of National Cricket League titles after finishing top in tier one following the 19th edition of the tournament. They ended the season with 25 points, including two wins and twice as many draws, to claim their sixth NCL first-class title. The side was boosted by Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Anamul Haque and Mahedi Hasan and concluded the season with a win, defeating Dhaka by an innings and 49 runs. Rajshahi, who got promoted to tier one after finishing top in tier two, hold the most NCL title wins in a row. They won four consecutive titles from 2008 to 2012. Khulna picked the six remaining Dhaka wickets in the first session of the final day Saturday to register a winning finish to the season. Dhaka’s second innings ended on 297. Miraz starred in the first innings with seven scalps to restrict the opponent to just 113 and in reply, Khulna posted 459 for the loss of eight wickets declared, riding on Anamul’s 202 and Mahedi’s 177. Dhaka batted twice in the game but failed to resist the Khulna bowling attack.

Also read: Nasir closing in on 300 as runs galore in NCL

Dhaka finished day three on 169 losing four wickets. The side lost the last six wickets for 128 runs. Rakibul Hasan scored 58 while Taibur Parvez, Mohammad Sharif and Nadif Chowdhury added 53, 47 and 43 to the tally respectively. Miraz and Rubel Hossain picked up three wickets each while captain Abdur Razzak bagged two to take Khulna to victory. Meanwhile, Dhaka got demoted to tier two after finishing at the bottom of the tier one points table. They finished on 10 points, same as Barisal, but fell behind in accordance with the net run rate.

Also read: Miraz bags career-best seven wickets

Rangpur v Barisal Rangpur’s Nasir Hossain could have ended with the lone triple century of the season had he not lost his wicket to Barisal’s Linkon Dey Sanjoy. The right-handed batsman finished his innings on 295. Nasir faced 510 balls in his knock and struck 32 boundaries and three over boundaries. Nasir’s heroic was complemented by Ariful Haque’s 162 as Rangpur declared their first innings on 614 for seven wickets. Monir Hossain topped the Barisal bowling with three wickets. Later, Barisal batted 62.2 overs and scored 217 at the cost of four wickets as the game ended in a draw. Salman scored 61 while Mosaddek Hossain added 50 to the board. Rangpur’s Tanbir Hayder picked up two wickets.

Also read: Anamul, Mahedi tons put Khulna in driving seat

19TH NCL, ROUND 6, DAY 4 Tier 1 Dhaka 113 & 297 in 99.5 overs (Rakibul 58, Parvez 51) lost to Khulna 459/8d by an innings and 49 runs Barisal 335 & 217/4 in 62.2 overs (Salman 61, Mosaddek 50*) drew with Rangpur 614/7d in 176.3 overs (Nasir 295, Ariful 162)   ROLL OF HONOUR 1999–00 – Chittagong (This edition was not a first-class competition) 2000–01 – Biman Bangladesh Airlines 2001–02 – Dhaka  2002–03 – Khulna  2003–04 – Dhaka  2004–05 – Dhaka  2005–06 – Rajshahi  2006–07 – Dhaka  2007–08 – Khulna  2008–09 – Rajshahi  2009–10 – Rajshahi  2010–11 – Rajshahi  2011–12 – Rajshahi  2012–13 – Khulna  2013–14 – Dhaka  2014–15 – Rangpur  2015–16 – Khulna  2016–17 – Khulna  2017–18 – Khulna 
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail