• Thursday, Dec 03, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:37 am

Mominul replaces injured Mosaddek in first Australia Test squad

  • Published at 06:06 pm August 20th, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:50 am August 21st, 2017
Mominul replaces injured Mosaddek in first Australia Test squad
Left-handed batsman Mominul Haque on Sunday was included in the 14-man Bangladesh squad, replacing youngster Mosaddek Hossain, for the first Test match against Australia, starting in Mirpur next Sunday. BCB president Nazmul Hasan informed this to the media at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. The BCB chief said Mominul will replace the injured Mosaddek, who is currently nursing an eye infection. Mosaddek did not take part in the recent practice match in Chittagong, played between the Bangladesh cricketers. Since the right-handed batsman is also uncertain for the Mirpur Test, Mominul will take his place in the squad, said the BCB supremo. "I don’t know if Mominul would have played in the playing XI. But there was every possibility of picking him in the squad. The 14-man squad could have easily been made into a 15-member squad. I’m just saying. Who needs to get into controversy? A player like Mominul is not in the squad; anyone will feel bad about it," said the BCB boss. "Mosaddek is suffering from an eye infection. Till now, he is uncertain as there has been no solution regarding this (eye injury). So Mominul comes to the squad in his place.

Also read: Smith wary of Tigers threat

"After discussing with the coach (Chandika Hathurusingha) and selectors (Minhajul Abedin and Habibul Bashar), I tried to understand their thinking about how to beat Australia. They needed certain players for this opposition. They also didn’t want to drop recent performers. They want to retain the last Test squad,” he added. Earlier on Saturday, the 14-man Tigers squad was announced without Mominul, who has played 22 Tests so far, scoring 1688 runs at an average of 46.88, including four hundreds and 11 fifties. 14-man squad for first Australia Test Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Shakib al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Shafiul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail