• Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 04:59 pm

Anamul included as 29-man Bangladesh squad named

  • Published at 10:51 pm June 22nd, 2017
  • Last updated at 05:03 am June 23rd, 2017
Anamul included as 29-man Bangladesh squad named
The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 29-member preliminary squad for the home series against Australia and tour of South Africa this year. National discards Anamul Haque and Al Amin Hossain were named in the squad. The duo were part of the last national preliminary squad, for the tours of India and Sri Lanka, earlier this year. Middle-order batsman Nasir Hossain was also named in the squad after he missed Bangladesh’s 2017 Champions Trophy campaign. The squad will begin fitness camp from July 10 albeit not with full attendance. Tamim Iqbal will miss the camp provided he flies off to London in the first week of July to join Essex Eagles for the NatWest T20 Blast. Tamim earned a deal from the English County Cricket Club following his scintillating performance in the recently concluded Champions Trophy. The left-handed batsman finished as the third highest-scorer in the eight-nation tournament with 293 runs in four innings at an average of 73.25.

Read more: Rubel undergoes op, ruled out for six weeks

Rubel Hossain will miss the camp due to injury. The right-arm speedster picked up a bizarre jaw fracture following Bangladesh’s semi-final against India in the Champions Trophy after colliding with a door in the team hotel. Rubel underwent surgery on Wednesday and will take at least four weeks to recover. Meanwhile, the likes of Anamul and Liton Das will be touring Australia with the BCB High Performance Unit. The HP team is set to leave Dhaka on July 1 for one three-day game and five one-day matches, scheduled to be held in Darwin.

Read more: Anamul eyeing return to national fold

Australia are scheduled to reach Dhaka on August 18 for the two-match Test series. The visiting side will kick off the tour with a two-day warm-up game in Fatullah on August 22 before locking horns with the host in the first Test in Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium from August 27. The second Test will be played in Chittagong from September 4. Following the Australia series, the Tigers will leave for South Africa for two Tests, three ODIs and two T20Is. Squad Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Masrafe bin Mortaza, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Subashish Roy, Kamrul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sanjamul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain, Saif Uddin, Anamul Haque, Abul Hasan, Al Amin Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Muktar Ali, Tanbir Hayder, Saqlain Sajib and Shafiul Islam