Monday April 23, 2018 10:57 PM

Bangladesh ease to victory over Ireland

  • Published at 03:48 PM May 19, 2017
  • Last updated at 10:03 PM May 19, 2017
Bangladesh ease to victory over Ireland
Bangladesh's Soumya Sarkar bats during the fourth ODI match of the Ireland Tri-Nation series at Malahide Cricket Club in Dublin on May 19, 2017AFP

After winning the toss, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe asked Ireland to bat first

Bangladesh 182/1 (27.1 overs)

Ireland 181 (46.3 overs)

Bangladesh strolled to victory over Ireland in the fourth match of the Tri-Nation Series in Dublin on Friday

Mushfiqur Rahim finished off the match on the first ball of the 28th over, with the winning run among 3 he scored from 7 balls. He had entered the game for Sabbir Rahman, who was dismissed in the 25th over after scoring a brisk 35 runs from 34 balls.

However, among the batsmen, the plaudits will go to Soumya Sarkar, who scored 87 of the teams 182 runs off just 68 balls.

14 of Soumya’s runs came in the ninth over, when he struck Barry McCarthey for a six and two fours. The Bangladeshi opener was also dropped in the 20th over, shortly after bringing up his 50.

Tamim, who had opened the batting with Soumya, had to return to the pavilion three runs short of his own half century, after he was caught behind off the bowling of Kevin O’Brien in the 14th over, while on 47 runs off 54 balls.

Bangladesh won the toss and bowled Ireland out for 181 runs.

Mustafizur Rahman stole the show among the Bangladeshi bowlers, claiming 4 wickets and giving away just 23 runs, with captain Mashrafe Mortaza chipping in with 2 wickets and conceding 18 runs.

Tim Murtagh was left as last man standing in the Irish innings, with 5 runs off 9 balls, as Peter Chase was the last man out.

Paul Stirling, who opened the batting for the Irish with Joyce , was dismissed in the second over after he nicked a ball from Mostafizur Rahman to the slips with a run yet to be scored scored.

Irish captain William Porterfield was next to return to the pavilion, caught and bowled by Mosaddek Hossain in the ninth over after he scored a quickfire 22 runs off 25 balls.

Balbrine, in at second down, was then bowled out by Shakib in the 15th over, after scoring 12 runs off 24 balls.

Subsequently, Niall O’Brien, 30 runs off 42 balls, set up a good partnership with Joyce until he was dismissed by Mustafizur on the second ball of the 28th over.

Ed Joyce was then finally caught out off the bowling of Sunzamul Islam in the 29th over, after scoring 46 runs off 74 balls.

Kevin O’Brien, who had come in for the departing Niall, was then dismissed by Mustafizur in the 32nd over after scoring 10 runs off 11 balls.

Without showing any signs of slowing down, Mustafizur then dismissed Gary Wilson in the 34th over to pick up his fourth wicket , after the latter scored just 6 runs off 17 balls.

Barry McCarthey was then dismissed lbw off the bowing of Sunzamul in the 44th over, having scored 12 runs off 23 balls.

Mashrafe picked up the wickets of George Dockrell, on 25 runs off 50 balls, and Peter Chase, on a duck, to close out the Irish innings on the third ball of the 47th over.

Both teams made a change each to the XIs from their previous matches. Bangladesh handed a debut to 27-year-old left-arm spinner Sunzamul Islam, who replaced Mehedi Hasan in the XI. Sunzamul, who is also a handy lower-order batsman, was a part of Bangladesh’s ODI and T20I squads on their recent tour of Sri Lanka but did not get a game in either format.

Ireland welcomed Ed Joyce back after the batsman had missed the first two games due to a back niggle. Simi Singh, who made his debut against New Zealand, made way for Joyce.

Ireland, too, were in search of their first win in the tournament. The series opener in Malahide last week between the two teams was washed out with only 31.1 overs of play possible. Rain remains a threat for this game, too, with a few showers predicted for late afternoon.


Bangladesh Squad

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Sunzamul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman.

Ireland Squad

William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien (wk), Andy Balbirnie, Kevin O’Brien, Gary Wilson, George Dockrell, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh and Peter Chase.

Related Stories

Leave a Comment

 Please read our Comment Policy before posting

Unilever Pure IT Water

Latest News

Featured Videos

Subscribe Ad_330:120

Most Read

Send this to a friend