• Friday, Apr 10, 2020
  • Last Update : 06:12 pm

DPL SEASON 2016-17: Centuries galore as Abahani still second

  • Published at 12:38 am May 18th, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:40 am May 18th, 2017
DPL SEASON 2016-17: Centuries galore as Abahani still second
Boosted by in-form opening batsman Liton Kumar Das’ second century this year, Abahani Limited defeated Legends of Rupganj in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League season 2016-17 on Wednesday. With this win, holder Abahani maintained second position in the 12-team points table with eight victories in 10 matches. Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club secured their seventh win this season with a dominating victory over Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity with opener Imtiaz Hossain smashing an unbeaten century for the winning side. Meanwhile, Victoria Sporting Club, struggling at the bottom of the table, finally tasted their first win this year defeating relegation contender Partex Sporting Club. Abahani v Rupganj, BKSP 4 Liton slammed a whirlwind hundred as Abahani clinched a 49-run win over Rupganj. Batting first, Abahani openers toyed with the Rupganj attack with Liton and left-handed batsman Shadman Islam posting 207 for the opening wicket stand. Shadman scored 85 with seven boundaries and five over boundaries before getting dismissed. Liton however, marched on to make 136 in 142 deliveries with the help of 20 fours and three sixes before Rupganj pacer Mohammad Sharif removed him in the 33rd over. The Sky Blues eventually put up 333 in 49.5 overs before being all out. Liton is shining bright for Abahani having scored a half century and 135 in his previous two outings. The right-hander is the highest run-scorer in the tournament so far with 578, including two tons and three half-centuries. Chasing the target, captain Naeem Islam scored 123, featuring 11 boundaries and three sixers, but the effort went in vain as Rupganj made 284 in 50 overs losing six wickets. Lower-order batsman Mosharraf Hossain added 67. Abahani pacer Abu Jayed picked up three wickets. Doleshwar v Khelaghar, Fatullah Imtiaz blasted an unbeaten century as Doleshwar strolled to a 10-wicket win against Khelaghar. Chasing a below-par 179-run target, Imtiaz was destructive, hammering 107, composed with 10 fours and three sixes, while his opening partner Abdul Mazid remained not out on 64 as Doleshwar reached their target in 33.1 overs without loss. Earlier, Khelghar were asked to bat first and riding on middle-order batsman's Amit Majumder’s 73, posted 178 on the board losing all of their wickets in 45.3 overs. Left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny, the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, bagged three wickets for Doleshwar to take his tally to 26 scalps in 10 innings. [caption id="attachment_64008" align="aligncenter" width="1024"] Doleshwar's Arafat Sunny took his tally to 26 wickets in 10 matches DHAKA TRIBUNE[/caption] Victoria v Partex, BKSP 3 In the battle between the relegation contenders, Victoria defeated Partex by two wickets. Taking first guard, Partex put up 298 losing nine wickets in 50 overs. Pacer Mahbubul Alam took four wickets for Victoria. Later, riding on half-centuries from No 3 Arun Karthik (89) and opener Rubel Mia (73 not out), Victoria reached their target with three balls remaining. BRIEF SCORES Rupganj 284/6 (Naeem 123, Mosharraf 67) lost to Abahani 333 in 49.5 overs (Liton 136, Shadman 85) by 49 runs Doleshwar 181 in 33.1 overs (Imtiaz 107*, Mazid 64) beat Khelaghar 178 in 45.3 overs (Amit 73, Randiv 41) by 10 wickets Victoria 299/8 in 50.3 overs (Arun 89, Rubel 73) beat Partex 298/9 (Sukkur 95, Sazzadul 75) by two wickets   THURSDAY'S MATCHES Kalabagan v Gazi, Fatullah Mohammedan v Brothers, BKSP 3 Prime v Sk Jamal, BKSP 4   POINTS TABLE Teams M W L Pts Gazi 9 9 0 18 Abahani 10 8 2 16 Prime 9 7 2 14 Doleshwar 10 7 3 14 Mohammedan 9 6 3 12 Jamal 9 5 4 10 Rupganj 10 5 5 10 Brothers 9 3 6 6 Khelaghar 10 3 7 6 Kalabagan 9 2 7 4 Partex 10 1 9 2 Victoria 10 1 9 2