• Friday, Feb 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 05:28 pm

Gazi Group secure ninth successive win

  • Published at 07:54 pm May 15th, 2017
  • Last updated at 07:56 pm May 15th, 2017
Gazi Group secure ninth successive win
Gazi Group Cricketers stretched their lead in the top of the table picking their ninth consecutive win in the Dhaka Premier League yesterday. Gazi Group defeated Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity to maintain their unbeaten run in the season and stay at the top with 18 points. Meanwhile, Prime Bank Cricket Club registered a sensational one run win against Brothers Union to share the second spot in the table with Abahani Limited with 14 points at the end of round nine. In the third game of the day, riding on Mohammad Ashraful’s unbeaten half-century, Kalabagan Krira Chakra picked their second win of the season, defeating much stronger Shiekh Jamal side. The win for Kalabagan opened a slight opportunity to skip the relegation league. Gazi Group v Khelaghar SKS Pacer Abu Hider’s four-for followed by a half century by the opener Anamul Haque and middle-order batsman Shurawardi Shuvo saw Gazi Group defeat Khelaghar by seven wickets at Fatullah’s Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium. Batting first in the 43 overs a side game, Khelaghar scored 175 runs losing seven wickets. Amit Majumder’s 49 runs was the highest in Khelaghar innings. In reply, Gazi Group reached the target in 36.3 overs despite losing two early wickets. Opener Anamul added 67 to the tally from the top while Shuvo remained unbeaten on 58 with Parvez Rasool on 42. Tanvir Islam picked three wickets for Khelaghar. Prime Bank CC v Brothers Union Prime Bank picked a nail biting one run win against Brothers Union at BKSP group 3. Batting first after winning the toss, Prime Bank posted 249 runs losing six wickets in 43 overs. The innings was propelled by Abhimanyu Easwaran’s 70 runs. The Indian struck five boundaries and one over boundary in his 68-ball innings. Opener Mehedi Maruf added 58 off 70 while wicket-keeper batsman Zakir Hossain scored 52 facing 50 deliveries. Nihaduzzaman picked three wickets for Brothers. Chasing the target, Manvinder Bisla’s 57, Junaid Siddique’s 51 and another 46 by Alok Kapali boosted Brothers close to the target. The side needed 11 runs to win in the last over of the innings which occasional bowler Ariful Haque defended to register an exciting win for Prime Bank. Ariful and pacer Al Amin Hossain picked two wickets each for Prime Bank. [caption id="attachment_63544" align="aligncenter" width="708"] Kalabagan KC batsman Mohammad Ashraful adjudged man of the match for his unbeaten 81 against Sheikh Jamal Dhaka Tribune [/caption] Kalabagan KC v Sheikh Jamal Mohammad Ashraful’s unbeaten 81 runs aided Kalabagan secure their second win of the season defeating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by seven wickets at BKSP Ground 4. Sheikh Jamal recovered from a top order debacle as Sheikh Jamal captain Rajin Saleh scored 45, Sohag Gazi added 39 and Elias Sunny remained unbeaten on 36. Kalabagan pacer Abul Hasan picked three wickets. Chasing 214 runs, Ashraful remained unbeaten with Mehrab Hossain jnr on 43 to get Kalabagan to shore. The 81 runs off 129 deliveries with six boundaries and two over boundaries is Ashraful best in the season as he struggled in majority of the previous matches. Opener Tasamul Haque scored 48. With the win Kalabagan now have four points in nine matches to leave behind Partex Sporting Club and Victoria Sporting Club. Partex have won one game in the season while Victoria are yet to secure a win.