• Saturday, Jan 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:34 am

Raqibul’s record 190 in vain as Abahani edge Mohammedan in thriller

  • Published at 09:30 pm May 8th, 2017
  • Last updated at 06:34 pm May 27th, 2017
Raqibul’s record 190 in vain as Abahani edge Mohammedan in thriller
Abahani Limited defeated arch-rival Mohammedan Sporting Club by 27 runs in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League (DPL) yesterday despite Mohammedan captain Raqibul Hasan’s valiant 190 run innings. This is the highest individual score for a batsman in DPL as the previous highest was 161 scored by Sri Lankan Chamara Kapugedera for Victoria Sporting Club against Prime Bank Cricket Club in 2014-15 season. Meanwhile Abdul Majid’s century ensured a convincing win for Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club against relegation threatened Victoria Sporting Club while Legends of Rupganj defeated Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity by 28 runs. Abahani Ltd v Mohammedan SC Abahani sealed 27 runs victory against Mohammedan on a flat batting wicket at BKSP Ground 4 yesterday. Mohammedan skipper Raqibul Hasan’s scored a brilliant 190 off 138-ball while chasing 339 runs. Abahani removed top three Mohammedan batsmen with only 38 runs on the board when Charith Asalanka and Raqibul took charge. The duo posted 175 runs for the fourth wicket before Charith got dismissed on 63. But Raqibul held his nerve and made enough effort to propel the innings. Raqibul stayed 204 minutes in the middle and struck 17 boundaries and 10 over boundaries during his superb innings. But his brilliant effort was not enough as Mohammedan fell short for 27 runs. Abahani foreign recruit Manan Sharma picked five wickets. [caption id="attachment_62288" align="aligncenter" width="1420"] Abahani players congratulate Raqibul Hasan for his superb 190 run innings after he got out MD Manik/Dhaka Tribune [/caption] Earlier, Abahani went to bat first winning the toss and posted 366 runs losing five wickets with the help of opener Liton Kumar’s 135 off 103 balls and Nazmul Hossain Shanto’s 110 off 100. Liton slammed 15 boundaries and two sixes while Nazmul hammered three boundaries and six over boundaries. Mohammedan spinner Taijul Islam picked three wickets. Prime Doleshwar SC Vs Victoria SC Opener Abul Majid’s 116 runs followed by Arafat Sunny career best bowling helped Prime Doleshwar to pick a convincing 119-run victory over Victoria SC. With the win, Prime Doleshwar kept the Super League hopes alive while Victoria’s horrible loosing run continues. Victoria lost all of their eighth games in the season. Winning the toss Prime Doleshwar opted to bat first and Majid’s 114-ball 116 gave the side perfect platform to go for a big total. At the end of 50 overs, the side lost six wickets to post 339 runs. Chathuranga De Silva’s was in blistering form and scored 64 runs in 25 deliveries with six boundaries and four over boundaries. Majid his struck seven boundaries and five over boundaries during his century. Chasing the target, Victoria were bundled out for 220. Middle-order batsmen Shafiul Hayat Ridoy scored 66 and Moinul Islam added 64 runs. Sunny took six wickets for the bowling side conceding 56 runs. Legends of Rupganj Vs Khelaghar SKS A combined bowling effort ensured Rupganj to defend a mediocre total and win by 28 runs against Khelaghar. Winning the toss Rupganj went to bat first and a disciplined bowling attack from Khelaghar restricted them to 239 runs losing all wickets in 49.5 overs. Tanvir Islam took three wickets for Khelaghar while Yasir Ali was the highest scorer for Rupganj with a 59 run innings. Later, Khelaghar managed to score 211 losing all wickets in 48.1 overs. Nazim Uddin struck 59 while Nazmus Sadat added 52 to the board to propel the chase. However other batsman failed to contribute enough and eventually Khelaghar lot by 28 runs.