• Thursday, Feb 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:44 am

'Dhaka'r pola' Taskin shines with hat-trick

  • Published at 09:12 pm March 28th, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:13 am March 29th, 2017
'Dhaka'r pola' Taskin shines with hat-trick
It wasn't all plain sailing though. At one stage, the Lankans were going strong, thanks to Kusal Mendis and Dinesh Chandimal's third-wicket partnership. And when their stand reached the 50-run mark, the DJ played the famous Bengali song titled "Dhaka'r pola very very smart". Since Taskin hails from Bangladesh's capital city and lives there, you never know, the track might have boosted his energy levels! Taskin picked up his first of three consecutive scalps in the third ball of the 50th and final over. It was a fuller delivery outside off-stump and middle-order batsman Asela Gunaratne drove uppishly. Fielder Soumya Sarkar was stationed inside the circle and duly took the catch. The second Lankan to get out was lower-order batter Suranga Lakmal. It was a full toss in the line of the middle stump and Lakmal swung hard. However, he was unable to connect properly and Mustafizur Rahman did the rest, grasping a good catch at mid wicket. The hat-trick ball was perhaps the best of the lot. No 11 Nuwan Pradeep was helpless as Taskin unleashed a peach of a yorker. Before Taskin, four Bangladeshis notched trebles – right-arm pacer Shahadat Hossain against Zimbabwe in Harare in 2006, left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak against Zimbabwe in Dhaka in 2010, right-arm paceman Rubel Hossain against New Zealand in Dhaka in 2013 and left-arm slow bowler Taijul Islam against Zimbabwe in Dhaka three years ago. Prior to his hat-trick, Taskin had bagged the important wicket of centurion Mendis in the 38th over. Mendis hit the ball hard straight towards Taskin, who failed to catch it at the first attempt. The ball went on to hit Taskin's left shoulder before popping up into the air. The right-arm speedster then completed the catch. Taskin ended up with bowling figures of 4/47 from 8.5 overs. BANGLADESH HAT-TRICKS IN ODIS Player Opposition Venue Year Shahadat Zimbabwe Harare 2006 Razzak Zimbabwe Dhaka 2010 Rubel New Zealand Dhaka 2013 Taijul Zimbabwe Dhaka 2014 Taskin Sri Lanka Dambulla 2017