• Wednesday, Dec 08, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:09 am

Mustafizur included alongside uncapped trio for 1st NZ ODI

  • Published at 06:11 pm December 20th, 2016
  • Last updated at 06:40 pm December 25th, 2016
Mustafizur included alongside uncapped trio for 1st NZ ODI
BCB on Tuesday announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming practice match against New Zealand XI and first ODI against the Kiwis, scheduled to be held this Thursday and on Boxing Day respectively. Fast bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman was included in the ODI squad for the first time in over a year due to injury while three uncapped cricketers - Tanvir Haider, Subashish Roy and Mehedi Hasan Miraz - were also named. Player of the series in the drawn Test series against England, Miraz was included, thanks to his recent run of good form, while leg-spinning all-rounder Tanvir and paceman Subashish were rewarded for their consistent performance in the domestic circuit. Meanwhile, left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur, who suffered a shoulder injury and later underwent a surgery in July this year, is all set to script a comeback to the national side after regaining hundred percent fitness. “We have kept the backbone of the settled squad that has been very successful over the last two years. But at the same time, it is also important to get players in who we believe have plenty of potential to perform at the highest level. Tanvir has been a consistent performer in domestic cricket and gives a different dimension to our attack as he is a genuine leg-spinner. He has also impressed the coaching team during the recent camp in Australia," said Minhajul Abedin, chairman of the BCB's national selection panel. “Subashish hits the deck and can extract bounce and movement off the wicket. He can be quite a handful in the New Zealand conditions. Miraz hasn’t played ODIs yet but has all the makings of a very useful limited-overs all-rounder. We have reasons to believe that he has the ability to serve Bangladesh in all formats and is one for the future,” he added. Mustafizur, Miraz, Tanvir, Subashish and pacer Rubel Hossain came into the side in place of all-rounder Nasir Hossain, pace bowlers Shafiul Islam and Al Amin Hossain and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam, who were all part of the previous ODI squad against visiting England. The practice match will be held at Cobham Oval in Whangarei while the first ODI will take place in Christchurch. Squad Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Subashish Roy, Tanvir Haider and Rubel Hossain Changes from the England ODI series In: Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Tanvir Haider, Subashish Roy Out: Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Al Amin Hossain and Taijul Islam
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail