• Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018
  • Last Update : 02:22 am

Franchises shape up squad in BPL players' draft

  • Published at 10:45 pm September 30th, 2016
  • Last updated at 10:48 pm September 30th, 2016
Franchises shape up squad in BPL players' draft
The players' draft for the forthcoming fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Twenty20 was held at Radisson Hotel in the capital yesterday as the seven franchises picked up their desired players through lottery. Khulna Titans, one of the two new franchises, got the right to call first in the players' draft, ahead of another newcomer Rajshahi Kings. Khulna picked up left-arm spinner Mosharraf Hossain in the first call before picking Shafiul Islam in the fourth call. On the other hand, Rajshahi purchased Nurul Hasan and youngster Mehedi Hasan Miraz in the second and third call respectively. All the franchises tried to pick young and established players from the domestic circuit as a total of 58 local and 23 foreign cricketers were picked up by the seven franchises during the players' draft. Earlier, the seven “A+” players were picked up by the franchises along with a few foreign cricketers, including West Indies hard-hitter Chris Gayle, who will play for Chittagong Vikings. BPL governing council member secretary Ismail Haider Mallick had informed that there will be no icon player in the upcoming edition as they have decided to change it into “A+” category. Shakib al Hasan will receive Tk55 lakhs, the highest among the seven A+ players, and turn out for Dhaka Dynamites. Tamim Iqbal will once again play for Chittagong, Mushfiqur Rahim for Barisal Bulls and Mahmudullah for Khulna while Mashrafe bin Mortaza was retained by defending champions Comilla Victorians. Each of these four A+ cricketers will pocket Tk50 lakhs. Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar, the new A+ category players, will feature for Rajshahi and Rangpur Riders and get Tk40 lakhs each. Draft