• Friday, Nov 27, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:32 am

BPL 4 set to feature seven teams

  • Published at 08:07 pm September 21st, 2016
BPL 4 set to feature seven teams
The fourth season of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 will feature seven teams after the BPL governing council declared new franchises for Khulna and Rajshahi. BPL GC chairman Afzalur Rahman Sinha declared the two new teams in a press conference on Wednesday. The BPL GC chief informed that the Khulna franchise were awarded to Gemcon Group while Rajshahi went to Mango Entertainment. The money-spinning T20 tournament will begin on November 4 with the grand finale set for either December 7 or 8. “We have included two new teams – Khulna and Rajshahi. There were many others who had shown interest for buying a franchise but we have a tight national calendar ahead. The Bangladesh team will have a camp in Australia before they tour New Zealand in December so we cannot include more teams in the BPL as it will only extend the fixture,” said Sinha following a BPL GC meeting. Khulna were previously owned by Orion Group while Rajshahi belonged to Digital Auto Care. Meanwhile, Sylhet Superstars, owned by Alif Group, have been scratched as a franchise. According to BPL GC member secretary Ismail Haider Mallick, the franchise had breached discipline and were irregular with payment. “At the moment, none of the franchises owe us money. Everyone has cleared their dues. We had to remove the Sylhet franchise due to disciplinary issues and they had owed the BCB money, which was realised through their bank guarantee,” Mallick explained. The players' draft for the upcoming BPL will be held on September 30. The BPL GC has decided to allow each of the franchises to retain two local players from the last season. In that case, it is understood that the two new franchises – Khulna and Rajshahi – will be given advantage to choose the local players before the draft. However, a final decision is yet to be made by the BPL GC on this issue. A detailed outline on the players' draft will be announced in a day or two. On the other hand, the broadcasting rights were retained by Channel 9 but only for this season. Channel 9 was the broadcaster of the previous three seasons. “Channel 9 will broadcast the tournament but for this year only. We will float tender following the 2016 season and award broadcasting rights to the rightful one for three years,” said Mallick.
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail