• Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 04:41 pm

Abahani seal 18th DPL title

  • Published at 09:13 pm June 22nd, 2016
  • Last updated at 05:48 pm June 24th, 2016
Abahani seal 18th DPL title

Powerhouse Abahani Limited clinched their 18th Dhaka Premier League title, and first since the 2010-11 season, following their huge 115-run win over Prime Bank Cricket Club on Wednesday.

In the other games of the day, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club thrashed Legends of Rupganj by seven wickets to move to second place in the Super League standings, two points behind champions Abahani, while Victoria Sporting Club sealed a 17-run victory over Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Abahani v Prime Bank

At the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, captain Tamim Iqbal smashed his second hundred of the ongoing edition to guide his side to 316/7 after Abahani decided to bat first.

The start was anything but pleasant as opening batsman Liton Kumar Das was dismissed without troubling the scorers while Nazmul Hossain Shanto (17) and Dinesh Karthik (25) also departed cheaply; Abahani reeling on 97/3 inside 23 overs.

But Tamim was rock solid at the other end and paired up with in-form youngster Mosaddek Hossain (78) to add 173 runs for the fourth wicket. Tamim reached his hundred in 114 balls and was eventually dismissed after scoring 142 off 132 balls, featuring four sixes and 11 fours.

Mosaddek also played sensibly and scored a fine 74-ball 78 with the help of five sixes and three fours while Abul Hasan chipped in with a quickfire 26 off just 10 balls at the end.

Indian cricketer Unmukt Chand picked up 3/59 while Nazmul Islam and Rubel Hossain took two wickets each.

In reply, Prime Bank never looked like chasing the target down, having lost wickets at regular intervals. Opener Mehedi Maruf top-scored with 69 while Shuvagata Hom blasted 51 off only 33 balls but Prime Bank were well short of the target, eventually managing 201 before losing all of their wickets in 37.2 overs.

Left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib was the pick of the Abahani bowlers as he bagged 7/58 from his 9.2 overs.

Rupganj v Doleshwar

It promised to be a cracker of a game at the BKSP 3 ground but it turned out to be a rather one-sided affair as Rupganj, asked to take first guard, were skittled out for just 143.

Asif Ahmed remained unbeaten with the highest score of 59 as none of the Rupganj batsmen were able to score significantly. Left-arm spinner Rahatul Ferdous bagged four scalps while pacer Al Amin Hossain took three.

Doleshwar faced no problems whatsoever in overhauling the target with Raqibul Hasan remaining undefeated on 66 and Rony Talukdar adding 42.

Mohammedan v Victoria

At the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Mohammedan were unable to chase the small target, losing the game by 17 runs, despite restricting Victoria to 205. Mominul Haque (58) and Al Amin (55) struck fifties for Victoria while left-arm spinner Enamul Haque Jr took three wickets.

In pursuit of 206, Mohammedan were bundled out for 188 in 42 overs with only Nazimuddin (50) and skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (46) offering any sort of resistance.

Besides scoring a half century, Mominul also picked up three wickets with his left-arm spin.


Abahani 316/7 (Tamim 142, Mosaddek 78, Chand 3/59) beat Prime Bank 201 (Maruf 69, Saqlain 7/58, Taskin 2/45) by 115 runs

Rupganj 143 (Asif 59*, Rahatul 4/36, Al Amin 3/29) lost to Doleshwar 144/3 (Raqibul 66, Rony 42, Haider 1/16) by seven wickets

Victoria 205 (Mominul 58, Al Amin 55, Enamul Jr 3/45) beat Mohammedan 188 (Nazimuddin 50, Mushfiq 46, Mominul 3/29) by 17 runs