• Monday, Jan 27, 2020
  • Last Update : 05:53 am

Hanif wins Rapid Rating Chess

  • Published at 12:43 am April 28th, 2018
  • Last updated at 12:47 am April 28th, 2018
Hanif wins Rapid Rating Chess
Mohammad Abu Hanif of Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club became unbeaten champion in the ACPB Charity Rapid Rating Chess Tournament 2018, organised by Association of Chess Players, Bangladesh under the guidance of Bangladesh Chess Federation Friday at the BCF hall-room of the National Sports Council. The event was organised to help former national chess player PJ Bakul Barua, who is sick and undergoing treatment in Chattogram. Hanif earned 6.5 points to clinch the title. Subrata Biswas of New National Club, Fenchuganj emerged as the runners-up with six points. Mohammad Matiur Rahman Mamun of Sonali Bank finished third while Candidate Master Mahtabuddin Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy was placed fourth. Six players earned five points each. Their positions are: fifth - CM SM Sharon of Bangladesh Navy, sixth - Fide Master Mehedi Hasan Parag of Sheikh Russel Club, seventh – Mohammad Ataur Rahman of Asad Club, eighth - Mohammad Abzid Rahman of Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society, Mohammad Aminul Islam of Leonine Club and Rakibul Islam Sachchu of Chattogram. The best U-16 prize went to Swarnavo Choudhury of Elegant International Academy. KM Shahidullah, vice president of BCF, distributed prizes among the winners as the chief guest. Earlier Friday, Mohammad Asadujjaman, acting president of ACPB, presided over the inauguration ceremony. International chess arbiter Mohammad Haroon-ur-Rashid, acting treasurer of ACPB, Kazi Mohammad Mahbub Afzal, executive member of ACPB, Women's Candidate Master Mahmuda Hoque Chowdhury Moly and Chattogram player SM Tareq spoke during the occasion where Mohammad Masum Rahi, office secretary of ACPB, was also present. The event was held in accordance with the seven-round Swiss-League system. A total of 56 players participated in the day-long tournament. Champion of each category received Tk20,000 as prize money.