• Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:40 pm

Esoft Arena Club clinch 1st Division Chess

  • Published at 11:31 am January 7th, 2018
Esoft Arena Club clinch 1st Division Chess
Esoft Arena Club emerged as the champion in the Marcel 1st Division Chess League, sponsored by Walton Group and organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation, at National Sports Council in Dhaka Saturday. Esoft earned maximum 16 points after the eighth and penultimate round of games and clinched the title before the final round. In the eighth round, Esoft beat Hasan Memorial Chess Club by 2½-1½ game points. Indian International Masters Gusain Himal and Prince Bajaj of Esoft won against Azizul Hasan and Mohammad Emdadul Haque of Hasan Memorial respectively. Mohammad Sariatullah of Hasan Memorial won against Mohammad Siddiqur Rahman of Esoft while Candidate Master Mahtabuddin Ahmed of Hasan Memorial drew with Uten of Esoft. Sonargaon Club are second with 13 points while Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society are third with 12 points. Sonargaon beat Mohakhali Pradip Sangha by 3½-½ game points. Indians Aronyak Ghosh and Abhishek Sarkar and Fide Master Mohammad Fahad Rahman of Sonargaon won respectively against  Mohammad Jewel, Shamsul Kabir Chowdhury and Hanif Mollah of Pradip Sangha. Rakib Ahmed Saleh of Pradip Sangha drew with Mohammed Enayet Hossain of Sonargaon.

Also read: Hasan Memorial, Esoft Arena jointly leading 1st Division Chess

Janata Bank beat Basir Memorial Club 3-1. Mohammad Saiful Islam Chowdhury, FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman and Mohammad Abzid Rahman of Janata Bank won respectively against Mohammad Rezaul Karim, Mohammed Salim and Indian Soham Dey of Basir Memorial. Shah Mahfuzul Karim of Basir Memorial won against CM Chanchal Kumer Ghosh of Janata Bank. Agrani Bank Limited Daba Dal beat Debdas Biswas Smiriti Sangsad 3-1. Mohammad Monir Hossain Khan and Mohammad Sherajul Kabir of Agrani Bank won respectively against Mohammad Aminul Islam and AB Bappi of Debdas Biswas Smrity. Afzal Hossain Sachchu and Kazi Taherul Islam of Agrani Bank drew respectively against Sabya Sachi Mandal and Sibu Podder of Debdas Biswas Smrity. Kasparov Club beat Mir Chess Club. Mohammad Hasan and Indian Aayush Bhattacherjee of Kasparov Club won respectively against Sheikh Raju Ahmed and Shazzad Kishor of Mir Club. Mohammad Alamgir of Kasparov Club got a walk-over against Mohammed Tajul Islam of Mir Club and Faisal Hossain of Mir Club won against Mohammad Shamsul Alam of Kasparov Club. The ninth and final round will be held at the same venue Sunday, starting at 2:30pm.