• Monday, Dec 09, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:48 pm

1st Division Chess begins Saturday

  • Published at 08:50 pm December 26th, 2017
  • Last updated at 08:51 pm December 26th, 2017
1st Division Chess begins Saturday
The Marcel 1st Division Chess League will get underway Saturday at the hall-room of Bangladesh Chess Federation in Dhaka at 3pm. A total of 12 teams - Mohammedan Sporting Limited Limited, Bangladesh Navy Jr, Hasan Memorial Club, Basir Memorial Club, Agrani Bank Limited, Mir Club, Mohakhali Pradip Sangha, Debdas Biswas Smrity Sangsad, Kasparov Club, Sonargaon Club, Esoft Arena and Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society - will participate in the event. The details of the tournament were revealed at a press conference in Dhaka Tuesday where FM Iqbal bin Anwar Don, head of sports and welfare of Walton Group, KM Shahidullah, BCF vice president, and Syed Shahab Uddin Shamin, general secretary, were present. The games will be held in accordance with the round robin league system. Prize money worth Tk1,00,000, along with trophies, medals and Walton home appliances will be on offer for the winner, runners up side and the third placed team. The champion will receive Tk50,000, the runners up side Tk30,000 and third placed team Tk20,000. The top two teams in the final ranking will qualify for the Premier Division Chess League next year while the bottom two sides will be relegated to the 2nd Division Chess League 2018.