• Wednesday, Oct 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:33 pm

Bangladesh beat Australia by 10 runs, win series

  • Published at 05:47 pm August 6th, 2021

Chasing a moderate 128 for victory, the Aussies were restricted to 117/4 in their 20 overs as the Tigers sealed the series with two games to go

Bangladesh beat Australia by 10 runs to take an unassailable 3-0 lead in the five-match T20I series at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Friday.

Chasing a moderate 128 for victory, the Aussies were restricted to 117/4 in their 20 overs as the Tigers sealed the series with two games to go.

Mitchell Marsh top-scored with a 47-ball 51, and shared a vital 63-run stand for the second wicket with Ben McDermott (35), but the visiting side lost their way from there to fall short by 10 runs.

Left-arm seamer Shariful Islam took two wickets.

Earlier, Australia seamer Nathan Ellis bagged a hat-trick on debut, becoming the first ever cricketer to do so in T20Is, as Bangladesh were restricted to 127/9 in their 20 overs.

Ellis first cleaned up Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah, who top-scored with 52 off 53 balls, before both Mustafizur Rahman and Mahedi Hasan were caught in the deep off consecutive deliveries to complete the hat-trick.

Ellis was supported well by Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa who picked up two wickets each.

Mahmudullah had won the toss and decided to bat first.

The toss was delayed by an hour and a half due to rain, but there will be the full complement of 20 overs, while the innings break will consist of 10 minutes.

The Tigers, leading 2-0, will be looking to wrap up the series Friday with two games to spare, while the Aussies will be desperate for victory to stay alive in the series.

Bangladesh are unchanged from the second T20I, while Australia made three changes with McDermott, Ellis and Dan Christian coming in for Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc and Andrew Tye.


Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah (capt), Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shariful Islam


Matthew Wade (capt & wk), Ben McDermott, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Alex Carey, Ashton Turner, Dan Christian, Ashton Agar, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Facebook 60
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail