• Wednesday, Oct 20, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:50 am

Stats you need to know from past 15 Euro finals

  • Published at 09:55 pm July 9th, 2021

Italy and England meet Sunday in the 16th Uefa Euro final with the Three Lions becoming only the 13th nation to appear at this stage

From the teams who have shone brightest in finals to the players who stamped their mark on Euro history, we pore over the key statistics from all 15 previous deciders.

Final records

The biggest win in an Euro final belongs to three-time winners Spain, who blanked Italy 4-0 in 2012.

The 4-0 win is the joint highest scoring final, alongside the 2-2 draw between Czechoslovakia and West Germany in 1976, which the former went on to win on penalties.

The highest attendance in a final was registered in 1964, hosted by Spain's Santiago Bernabeu Stadium in Madrid as some 79,115 flocked in.

West Germany have the most wins in a final and the most losses as well, with three each, jointly holding the two records alongside Spain (three-time winners) and Soviet Union (three-time finalists).

Four share the landmark of having scored the most (twice) in the finals, three hailing from Germany and West Germany (Oliver Bierhoff, Horst Hrubesch and Gerd Muller), and the other being Spaniard Fernando Torres.

As many as 38 players have appeared in two finals. Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo holds the record of appearing in finals 12 years apart. Italy's Leonardo Bonucci and Giorgio Chiellini will join the two-final list if they feature against England.

The Germans continue to dominate the stats as they boast all three players who have scored twice in a final - Muller, Bierhoff and Hrubesch.

Torres though is the only one who has scored in two finals.

Berti Vogts is the only one who has won both as a player and coach, triumphing in 1972 for West Germany as player, before winning as a coach for Germany in 1996.

Final appearances

Germany and West Germany have seen both sides of the coin in the finals, winning and losing three each. Spain have a much better record of three wins and a loss, while the Soviets have just one win and three losses. Italy are into their fourth final in the 2020 edition having won one and lost twice previously.

France have appeared in three finals, winning twice and losing once. Czechoslovakia and the Czech Republic have been in two finals, winning and losing one each, Portugal appeared in two finals, winning and losing one each, while Yugoslavia have lost both the finals they took part in.

Denmark, Greece and the Netherlands have won the only time they participated in a final, while Belgium lost their only one.

England are in a final for the first time.

Following the tournament's expansion to a 16-team finals in 1996, just one defending champion – Spain in 2012 – have reached the final. Prior to that, the Soviet Union (1964) and West Germany (1976) made the final as holders but, unlike Spain, were beaten.

Reached consecutive finals

West Germany and Germany reached three finals in a row from 1972-1980, and appeared in two consecutive finals in 1992 and 1996. Soviet Union in 1960 and 1964 and Spain in 2008 and 2012 also qualified for two successive finals.

Came from behind to win final

Only four teams have come from behind to win a final.

The Soviets fell behind on 43 minutes against Yugoslavia before winning it after extra time 2-1 in 1960. Eight years later, Italy fell behind on 39 minutes against Yugoslavia before drawing the final 1-1 after extra time, and winning the replay 2-0. In 1996, the Germans fell behind on 59 minutes against the Czechs, before emerging victorious 2-1 after extra time with a golden goal. In 2000, France fell behind on 55 minutes against Italy before winning 2-1 after extra time with a golden goal.

Extra time

Six of the 15 finals have required extra time after 90 minutes.

One of them was won by West Germany against the Czechs on penalties 5-3 in 1976, after the final ended 2-2 following extra time.

One among the six occasions a final reached extra time, a replay was required where Italy won 2-0 against Yugoslavia in 1968, after the first final ended 1-1 following extra time.

Two were settled by golden goals, with the Germans triumphing 2-1 against the Czechs in 1996, and France beating Italy 2-1 in 2000.

On the other two occasions, the finals were decided in extra time; the Soviets winning 2-1 against Yugoslavia in 1960 and Portugal edging France 1-0 in 2016.

Hosts in final

England will be looking to follow in the footsteps of France, Italy and Spain, who won in 1964, 1968 and 1984 as hosts.

France and Portugal though were unlucky on two occasions as hosts, losing the final in 2016 and 2004 respectively.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail