BCB official scorer informed that the umpire had indeed made a mistake calling the over after only five deliveries
The second and penultimate ODI between hosts Bangladesh and visitors West Indies Friday witnessed an unlikely mistake in modern times as one of Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman’s overs was called off by the on-field umpire after just five deliveries.
Mustafizur and his captain Tamim Iqbal were left clueless with the umpire’s call.
The incident took place in the 40th over of the Windies innings.
Mustafizur in that over bowled seven times because of the two no-balls, which means only five legal deliveries were bowled.
On-field umpire Gazi Sohel missed the count of one delivery despite having the best technical support possible at his disposal.
The first two deliveries of the over were legal, while the third was called a no-ball.
The following delivery, which was a free hit, also went for a no-ball.
The second ODI followed a somewhat similar script to the first ODI as Bangladesh dominated both the games to seal the...Posted by Sports Tribune on Friday, 22 January 2021
Mustafizur then came up with three legal deliveries but before he could bowl the sixth, umpire Sohel called it an over.
There was no concern of niggle or injury of Mustafizur as the Bangladesh cricketer had remained in the field for the rest of the game.
Later Bangladesh Cricket Board official scorer informed that the umpire had indeed made a mistake calling the over after only five deliveries.
The incident such as this is however, not the only one in world cricket and all of the previous instances were down to the umpire’s fault.
Former Sri Lanka pacer Lasith Malinga had bowled a five-ball over against India in 2012.
In the 2018 Bangladesh Premier League T20, Sylhet Sixers pacer Kamrul Islam Rabbi had bowled seven deliveries in an over.