• Tuesday, Nov 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:55 am

Gemcon Khulna unveil jersey as teams begin training

  • Published at 08:53 pm November 21st, 2020
Gemcon Khulna have a dream pairing in the form of Bangladesh T20I captain Mahmudullah and one of the world’s premier all-rounders Shakib al Hasan as they bid to win the Bangabandhu T20 Cup Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Gemcon Khulna players were among the teams who trained at the home of cricket in Mirpur Saturday as Mahmudullah and Shakib sweated it out in tandem

With the Bangabandhu T20 Cup knocking at the door, the participating teams began training at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium and its adjacent premises Saturday.

Meanwhile, Gemcon Khulna, already touted as one of the title favourites after roping in Bangladesh T20I captain Mahmudullah and all-rounder Shakib al Hasan, unveiled their team jersey and also agreed a title sponsorship deal with Petronas for the tournament.

Mahmudullah, Gemcon Sports managing director Kazi Inam Ahmed, and cricketers Anamul Haque, Al Amin Hossain, Shafiul Islam and Imrul Kayes were present among others during the jersey unveiling.

Gemcon Khulna players were among the teams who trained at the home of cricket in Mirpur Saturday as Mahmudullah and Shakib sweated it out in tandem.

All the players of Gemcon Khulna, along with Beximco Dhaka, Minister Group Rajshahi and Fortune Barishal tested Covid-19 negative Friday, while only Mahmudul Hasan from Gazi Group Chattogram tested positive.

Gazi Group can either wait for Mahmudul’s test to be negative or recruit someone from the list of unsold players in the players draft, which took place last week at a city hotel.

Gemcon Khulna MD Kazi Inam Ahmed (2R) and United Lube Oil Limited officials, including CEO Amir H Khan and director Wayez Mahmud, pose for photographs after Petronas, distributed solely in Bangladesh by United Lube Oil Ltd, agreed a deal to be the title sponsor of Gemcon Khulna in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

A total of 80 players were picked by five teams in the draft, and they will all be part of the bio-secure bubble.

The players and some 170 members including management staffs of the five teams, match officials, general staffs, broadcast team, commentators, groundsmen and security personnel will be allowed inside the bio-bubble.

Five members of the coaching staff, manager and three supporting staffs will be permitted to accompany the teams at all times.

The teams will only go to the field for their matches and training and reside at Hotel Pan Pacific Sonargaon in the capital during the duration of the tournament, and will not be allowed anywhere else due to the bubble.

Before and during the competition, those players who test Covid-19 positive will be in isolation at the Krira Polli and National Swimming Pool Hostel, both in Mirpur.

The captains of the other four teams have been named with wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim in charge of Dhaka, Tamim Iqbal at the helm of Barishal, Mohammad Mithun in charge of Chattogram and young Nazmul Hossain Shanto at the helm of Rajshahi. 

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail