• Sunday, Aug 01, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:38 pm

Dominant Bangladesh outclass Zimbabwe

  • Published at 11:38 am February 25th, 2020
Bangladesh cricketers celebrate winning the lone Test against Zimbabwe in Mirpur Tuesday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

This is only the second occasion Bangladesh won by an innings in their 20-year journey in Tests

Bangladesh recorded their first Test match win after six straight losses when they outclassed Zimbabwe by an innings and 106 runs during day four of their lone Test at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Tuesday.

This is only the second occasion Bangladesh won by an innings in their 20-year journey in Tests.

Zimbabwe, resuming the penultimate day’s play on 9/2 in five overs, were eventually all out for 189 in 57.3 overs, just before the tea session.

Off-spinner Nayeem Hasan and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam did the most damage throughout the Test, accounting for 15 of the 20 Zimbabwe wickets to fall, and were their usual devastating self in the second innings, sharing nine scalps between themselves.

Bangladesh's Mushfiqur Rahim was adjudged man of the match for his brilliant unbeaten double hundred Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Nayeem bagged 5/82 in 24 overs, his second Test five-wicket haul, to go with his four-for in the first essay, while Taijul notched 4/78 in 24.3 overs.

The other Zimbabwe second-innings wicket to fall was that of captain Craig Ervine (43), who was caught short of the crease by his Bangladeshi counterpart, Mominul Haque.

Earlier on day four, Zimbabwe lost the wicket of opener Kevin Kasuza (10) within the first half hour.

Just six overs later, the experienced Brendan Taylor (17) also got out cheaply, piling more pressure on Zimbabwe. 

Mominul Haque and BCB president Nazmul Hasan with the Test match trophy Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Ervine and all-rounder Sikandar Raza (37) then added 60 for the fifth wicket to form some sort of resistance but a brilliant throw from Mominul ended that too.

Ervine’s quickfire innings ended after lunch and his wicket was crucial for the Tigers as he had scored a fine hundred in the first innings.

Raza and lower-order batter Timycen Maruma (41) then played some late cameos but it was barely enough to make Bangladesh bat again.

In the end, Nayeem registered his career best bowling figure of 9/152 but it was former captain Mushfiqur Rahim who was adjudged man of the match for his brilliant unbeaten double century in the first innings.

“We badly needed a win as a team. We haven't played as a team in the last five-six Tests. The bowlers set it up by dismissing them for 260 (265) and Mominul batted really well. It was our plan to convert a start into a big score. We played well in all three departments and that should give us confidence going into the next Test (against Pakistan away next month),” said Mushfiq during the presentation ceremony.



Masvaure c & b Nayeem     64    152

Kasuza c Nayeem b Jayed    2    24

Ervine b Nayeem         107    227

Taylor b Nayeem         10    11

Raza c Liton b Nayeem         18    62

Maruma lbw b Jayed        7    35

Chakabva c Nayeem b Taijul    30    74

Tiripano c Liton b Jayed        8    31

Ndlovu lbw b Jayed        0    6

Tshuma lbw b Jayed        0    4

Nyauchi not out            6    13

Extras (b4 lb 4 w5)        13

Total (106.3 overs)        265 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1- 7 (Kasuza), 2-118 (Masvaure), 3-134 (Taylor), 4-174 (Raza), 5-199 (Maruma), 6-226 (Ervine) 7-240 (Tiripano), 8-244 (Ndlovu), 9-245 (Tshuma), 10-265 (Chakabva)


Ebadat 17-8-26-0 (w2), Jayed 24-6-71-4 (w3), Nayeem 38-9-70-4, Taijul 27.3-1-90-2


Tamim c Chakabva b Tiripano    41    89

Saif c Chakabva b Nyauchi    8    12

Nazmul c Chakabva b Tshuma    71    139

Mominul c & b Ndlovu        132    234

Mushfiq not out        203    318

Mithun c Chakabva b Ndlovu    17    23

Liton c Chakabva b Raza        53    95

Taijul not out            14    19

Extras (b8, lb3, nb5, w5)        21

Total (154 overs)        560/6D

Fall Of Wickets

1-18 (Saif), 2-96 (Tamim), 3-172 (Nazmul), 4-394 (Mominul), 5-421 (Mithun), 6-532 (Liton) 


Tiripano 30-6-96-1 (nb2, w4), Nyauchi 27-3-87-1 (w1, nb2), Raza 30-2-111-1 (nb1), Tshuma 25-2-85-1, Ndlovu 42-4-170-2


Masvaure b Nayeem        0    2

Kasuza c Mithun b Taijul    10    34

Tiripano c Liton b Nayeem     0    1

Taylor c Taijul b Nayeem    17    47

Ervine run out (Mominul)    43    49

Raza c Mushfiq b Taijul        37    71

Maruma c Tamim b Nayeem    41    52

Chakabva c Tamim b Taijul    18    40

Ndlovu lbw b Nayeem        4    2

Tshuma lbw b Taijul        3    26

Nyauchi not out            7    21

Extras (b 9)            9 

Total (57.3 Overs)        189 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Masvaure), 2-0 (Tiripano), 3-15 (Kasuza), 4-44 (Taylor), 5-104 (Ervine), 6-121 (Raza), 7-165 (Chakabva), 8-170 (Ndlovu), 9-181 (Maruma), 10-189 (Tshuma)


Nayeem 24-6-82-5, Taijul 24.3-7-78-4, Jayed 4-3-4-0, Ebadat 5-1-16-0

Bangladesh won by an innings and 106 runs

MoM: Mushfiqur Rahim

Facebook 257
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail