• Thursday, Feb 27, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:32 pm

Ruman named sportsperson of year

  • Published at 09:34 pm January 24th, 2020
Archer Ruman Shana is all smiles after being named sportsperson of the year by BSPA in Dhaka Friday BSPA

Shakib al Hasan clinched the Best Cricketer of the Year Award for the fourth time, his other wins coming in 2007, 2011 and 2017

Top archer Ruman Shana has been recognized as Sports Person of the Year 2019 during the Kool Bangladesh Sports Press Association Sports Awards. 

The Kool BSPA Sports Awards were handed out during a colorful ceremony in Dhaka Friday.

Shakib al Hasan clinched the Best Cricketer of the Year Award for the fourth time, his other wins coming in 2007, 2011 and 2017. 

Meanwhile, it was the first time Jamal Bhuiyan was named Footballer of the Year. 

Both Shakib and Jamal were also on the shortlist for Sports Person of the Year.

 Winners of the BSPA Awards Night Dhaka Tribune

However, it was the archers who stole the show after bagging all 10 archery gold medals at the 13th South Asian Games in Nepal last month.

Ruman won two more trophies, the Best Archer and the Popular Choice awards, while 14-year-old archery prodigy Ety Khatun was named Emerging Sports Person of the Year. 

Ety won three golds at the SAG.

Furthermore, German archery coach Martin Frederick was named Coach of the Year, while Bangladesh Archery Federation General Secretary Kazi Razib Uddin was named Organizer of the Year.

Mabia Akter Shimanta was named Best Weightlifter of the Year for the second time after 2016, for winning golds in consecutive editions of the SAG.

 Ruman also bagged the Best Archer and Popular Choice Awards Dhaka Tribune

SAG gold medallists karateka Humaira Akter Antara, taekwondeka Dipu Chakma and fencer Fatema Mujib were also named as the best in their respective disciplines. 

City Group was named as the Best Sponsor of the Year.

Athletics coach Rafikullah Akhter Milon and Football organizer Tajul Islam were given the Sports Personality of the Grassroots awards, while former player and kabaddi coach Abdul Jalil was honored with special recognition.

The BSPA Sports Awards has been honoring sports personalities in different categories every year since 1973, after the introducing of the Sports Person of the Year award in 1964. 

Sattam Alsehali, president of AIPS Asia, and Anjan Chowdhury, director of Square Toiletries Limited, attended the ceremony as guests of honor Friday.