• Monday, Jan 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:47 am

Challengers beat Thunder in BBPL opener

  • Published at 07:11 pm December 11th, 2019
Chattogram Challengers' Imrul Kayes plays a shot during their BBPL match against Sylhet Thunder in Mirpur Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Chasing 163 runs, Chattogram Challengers reached their target with one over to spare

Chattogram Challengers defeated Sylhet Thunder by five wickets in the opening match of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 2019 in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Wednesday.

Chasing 163 runs, Chattogram reached their target with one over to spare.

Imrul Kayes led the chase with a brilliant 61-run innings off just 38 deliveries, including two fours and five sixes. 

Chadwick Walton also played a good hand and remained unbeaten on 49 off 30 balls with three fours and a couple of sixes.

Halfway through their chase, Chattogram lost their way a little bit as they lost four wickets with 64 on the scoreboard in 8.5 overs. 

Imrul and Walton then formed a 86-run stand for the fifth wicket to ensure victory.

Nazmul Islam took two wickets for the Thunder.

Sylhet's Mohammad Mithun attempts a scoop shot Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Earlier, Sylhet posted 162 in their stipulated 20 overs losing four wickets, riding on Mohammad Mithun’s superb knock of 84 off 48 deliveries.

Mithun came out to bat at No 4 and remained undefeated till the end. 

He smashed four fours and five sixes. 

Johnson Charles scored 35 while captain Mosaddek Hossain scored 29.

Pacer Rubel Hossain picked up two wickets conceding 27 runs.

Imrul was adjudged man-of-the-match for his match-winning 61-run knock.



Rony c Nurul b Rubel             5    8

Charles b Nasum             35    23

Mithun not out                84    48

Jeevan c Walton b Emrit            4    4

Mosaddek c Emrit b Rubel        29    35

Milon not out                1    2

Extras (lb 4)                4 

Total (20 Overs)                162/4 

Fall Of Wickets

1-5 (Rony), 2-51 (Charles), 3-61 (Jeevan), 4-157 (Mosaddek)


Nasum 4-0-34-1, Rubel 4-0-27-2, Emrit 4-0-38-1, Muktar 3-0-22-0, Nasir 4-0-22-0, Burl 1-0-15-0


Fernando c Mendis b Santokie        33    26

Junaid c Naveen b Nazmul         4    7

Nasir c Mendis b Nazmul         0    1

Kayes c Santokie b Ebadat         61    38

Burl lbw b Mosaddek             3    9

Walton not out                49    30

Nurul not out                5    4

Extras (lb 1, nb 1, w 6)            8 

Total (19 Overs)                163/5 

Fall Of Wickets

1-20 (Junaid), 2-20 (Nasir), 3-42 (Fernando), 4-64 (Burl), 5-150 (Kayes)


Gazi 4-0-36-0, Santokie 4-0-34-1, Nazmul 3-0-23-2, Ebadat 4-0-33-1, Mosaddek 1-0-9-1, Naveen 3-0-27-0

Chattogram won by five wickets

MoM: Imrul Kayes (CC)