• Sunday, Jan 19, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:37 am

Day eyes final as SA Games camp begins Thursday

  • Published at 09:33 pm November 20th, 2019
Bangladesh footballers during training in Dhaka Dhaka Tribune

Favorite India have withdrawn their participation from SA Games which increases Bangladesh’s chances more

Jamie Day is looking forward to making it to the final of the South Asian Games in Nepal as Bangladesh’s training camp for the sub-continent’s biggest multi-discipline events begins in Dhaka Thursday.

After five-day preparation camp at home followed by a practice match against Bangladesh Premier League outfit Sheikh Russel KC Monday, Bangladesh are likely to leave for Kathmandu the following day.

“We may go to Nepal Tuesday so that we can go there earlier and get used to the climate and weather,” said Day to the reporters Wednesday.

He added, “We are going to play a practice match against Sheikh Russel Monday, giving the players an opportunity to play for 45 minutes each. The players were tired with the game we already had. We have to make sure the training load is not too much before going into the competition.”

Favorite India have withdrawn their participation from SA Games which increases Bangladesh’s chances more.  “As India pulled out I think it gives us better chance. I think we have good enough players to win a medal. If we play well we have good chance to play in the final,” added the English coach.

Earlier, Bangladesh Football Federation announced a 20-man squad for the SA Games, including four players – forward Mohammad Al Amin, defender Sushanta Tripura, goalkeepers Mohammad Pappu Hossain and Mahfuz Hasan Pritom – with the 16 senior squad members.

The participating teams can field three senior players aged above 23 and English coach Day didn’t have to think much before choosing national captain and midfielder Jamal Bhuiyan, defender Yeasin Khan and striker Nabib Newaj Jibon.

SAG Squad

Goalkeepers – Anisur Rahman, Pappu Hossain, Mahfuz Hasan Pritom

Defenders – Bishwanath Ghosh, Rahmat Mia, Yeasin Khan, Tutul Hossain Badshah, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Sushanto Tripura

Midfielders – Jamal Bhuiyan, Biplo Ahmed, Rabiul Hasan, Rakib Hossain, Forwards – Saad Uddin, Arifur Rahman, Mohammad Ibrahim

Strikers – Nabib Newaj Jibon, Al Amin, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil