• Wednesday, Sep 30, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:32 am

India beat Tigers by 30 runs in T20I series decider

  • Published at 07:07 pm November 10th, 2019
Bangladesh's Mohammad Naim plays a shot against India during the third T20I in Nagpur Sunday AFP

Mohammad Naim turned out to be one of the rare positives for the Tigers in this series as the left-handed batsman topped the run-scorers' chart from the two teams with 143 runs in three innings with an average of 47.66

Like their bowling performance, Bangladesh’s batting display also offered much promise before eventually fading out in the end as India won the third and final T20I by 30 runs to seal the series at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium Sunday.

Chasing 175 for a historic series victory, the Tigers were well on their way thanks to a brilliant 98-run third-wicket stand between opener Mohammad Naim and No 4 batsman Mohammad Mithun. 

Naim made a fine 48-ball 81, featuring 10 fours and two sixes, while Mithun scored 27 off 29 deliveries.

However, right-arm seamers Deepak Chahar and Shivam Dube had other ideas as the Tigers remarkably lost their last eight wickets for just 34 runs off 38 balls to spurn a golden opportunity to put one over their sub-continent rival.

In what ultimately was a disappointing batting display, only Naim and Mithun reached double figure.

Player of the match and series, Chahar bagged a whopping six wickets for just seven runs while Dube picked up three conceding 30 runs as one Bangladesh batsman after another departed like a pack of cards.

En route to his miserly bowling figure, which is the best ever in the history of T20Is, Chahar also registered a hat-trick to hammer the final nail in Bangladesh’s coffin.

Naim turned out to be one of the rare positives for the Tigers in this series as the left-handed batsman topped the run-scorers' chart from the two teams with 143 runs in three innings with an average of 47.66. 

Earlier, India posted 174 runs losing five wickets in their stipulated 20 overs after interim Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah elected to bowl first.

In the City of Orange, India suffered an early hiccup as stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma, playing his 100th T20I, was cleaned up for two by right-arm seamer Shafiul Islam.

And just when the other opener Shikhar Dhawan (19) was starting to free his arms, Shafiul struck again as Mahmudullah kept his calm and took a difficult catch under the lights running in towards the 30-yard circle.

Shafiul was in inspired form as he registered a maiden in the second over of India’s innings, which was the first maiden over in this series.

The Tigers could have caused further damage but Aminul Islam Biplob dropped a sitter off the bowling of Shafiul at point as No 4 batsman Shreyas Iyer received a reprieve on nought.

Iyer (62) and one-drop batsman Lokesh Rahul (52) then punished the Bangladesh bowlers, adding 59 for the third wicket.

Iyer was impressive on way to his maiden T20I half-century and he was especially harsh on off-spinner Afif Hossain, smashing three consecutive sixes in the 15th over. 

Rahul meanwhile, was his usual elegant self as he bagged his sixth fifty in the shortest format.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabsh Pant (six) continued his struggles as he was bowled by part-timer Soumya Sarkar.

Lower middle-order batsman Manish Pandey (22) and Dube (nine) were unbeaten at the end as India racked up a challenging total.

Biplob had a day to forget on the field as he also grassed another catch, that of Dube, but Bangladesh fielders otherwise put in a disciplined display.

Shafiul and Soumya picked up two wickets apiece while right-arm pacer Al Amin Hossain took one.

Biplob, left-arm paceman Mustafizur Rahman and Afif remained wicketless.

Both the Tigers and the Indians made one change to their playing XI from the second and penultimate T20I at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot Thursday.

Bangladesh included Mithun in place of all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain while Pandey replaced all-rounder Krunal Pandya.

The Tigers won the first T20I by seven wickets at Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi last week, following which the Indians leveled the series with an eight-wicket win in the second match.

The two teams will now turn their attention to the two-match Test series with the first game starting Thursday at Holkar Stadium in Indore.

The second and final Test will be held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata from November 22-26.

3RD T20I

INDIA INNINGS                R    B

Rohit b Shafiul                 2    6

Dhawan c Mahmudullah b Shafiul     19    16

Rahul c Liton b Al Amin             52    35

Iyer c Liton b Soumya             62    33

Pant b Soumya                 6    9

Pandey not out                22    13

Dube not out                9    8

Extras (w 2)                2 

Total (20 Overs)                174/5 

Fall Of Wickets

1-3 (Rohit), 2-35 (Dhawan), 3-94 (Rahul), 4-139 (Pant), 5-144 (Iyer)


Al Amin 4-0-22-1, Shafiul 4-1-32-2, Mustafizur 4-0-42-0, Aminul 3-0-29-0, Soumya 4-0-29-2, Afif 1-0-20-0


Liton c Sundar b Chahar        9    8

Naim b Dube            81    48

Soumya c Dube b Chahar    0    1

Mithun c Rahul b Chahar    27    29

Mushfiq b Dube            0    1

Mahmudullah b Chahal        8    10

Afif c & b Dube            0    1

Aminul b Chahar        9    9

Shafiul c Rahul b Chahar        4    6

Mustafizur c Iyer b Chahar    1    3

Al Amin not out            0    0

Extras (lb 3, w 2)        5 

Total (19.2 Overs)        144 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-12 (Liton), 2-12 (Soumya), 3-110 (Mithun), 4-110 (Mushfiq), 5-126 (Naim), 6-126 (Afif), 7-130 (Mahmudullah), 8-135 (Shafiul), 9-144 (Mustafizur), 10-144 (Aminul)


Khaleel 4-0-27-0, Sundar 4-0-34-0, Chahar 3.2-0-7-6, Chahal 4-0-43-1, Dube 4-0-30-3

India won by 30 runs

MoM: Deepak Chahar

MoS: Deepak Chahar

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail