• Thursday, Jan 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:53 pm

Chahal removes Mushfiq, Soumya in same over

  • Published at 10:24 pm November 7th, 2019
India's Yuzvendra Chahal celebrate dismissing Bangladesh's Mushfiqur Rahim during their second T20I in Rajkot Thursday AFP

These two wickets bagged by Yuzvendra Chahal halted Bangladesh’s charge and in the end, the Tigers could not capitalize on the good start

Two chances went begging off the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal in the first two overs - missed stumping chance by Rishabh Pant and a dropped catch by Rohit Sharma. 

But the leggie continued his impressive bowling display in his third over and picked up two crucial wickets to peg Bangladesh back. 

First, he removed Mushfiqur Rahim, who tried to slog sweep him and clear the boundary although there were two fielders placed in the deep mid wicket and deep square leg region to check that particular shot. 

Mushfiq went back to the pavilion in the first ball of the 13th over.

And in that over, Chahal removed Soumya Sarkar as well by foxing him with a googly and Soumya got stumped in the last ball of that over. 

Soumya was impressive in his 30-run innings but the way he got out, particularly in the same over when Mushfiq lost his wicket was frustrating. 

These two wickets bagged by Chahal halted Bangladesh’s charge and in the end, the Tigers could not capitalize on the good start.

2ND T20I


Liton run out (Pant)            29    21

Naim c Iyer b Sundar            36    31

Soumya st Pant b Chahal        30    20

Mushfiq c Pandya b Chahal        4    6

Mahmudullah c Dube b Chahar    30    21

Afif c Rohit b Khaleel             6    8

Mosaddek not out            7    9

Aminul not out            5    5

Extras (b 2, nb 1, w 3)            6 

Total (20 Overs)            153/6 

Fall Of Wickets

1-60 (Liton), 2-83 (Naim), 3-97 (Mushfiq), 4-103 (Soumya), 5-128 (Afif), 6-142 (Mahmudullah)


Chahar 4-0-25-1, Khaleel 4-0-44-1, Sundar 4-0-25-1, Chahal 4-0-28-2, Dube 2-0-12-0, Pandya 2-0-17-0

INDIA INNINGS            R    B

Rohit c sub (Mithun) b Aminul    85    43

Dhawan b Aminul            31    27

Rahul not out                8    11

Iyer not out                24    13

Extras (lb1, w5)            6

Total (15.4 overs)            154/2

Fall of wickets

1-118 (Dhawan), 2-125 (Rohit)


Mustafizur 3.4-0-35-0, Shafiul 2-0-23-0, Al-Amin 4-0-32-0, Aminul 4-0-29-2, Afif 1-0-13-0, Mosaddek 1-0-21-0

India won by eight wickets, level series 1-1

MoM: Rohit Sharma