• Tuesday, May 18, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:32 am

Sudden power failure at SBNCS

  • Published at 12:21 am September 14th, 2019
The first T20I between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in Mirpur Friday was stopped for 11 minutes due to power failure Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

This is the second time power failure happened at SBNCS during an international match after the first incident in an ODI between Bangladesh and Pakistan

A sudden power failure caused complete blackout at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur in the first T20I between host Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. 

The match was reduced to 18 overs due to bad weather. 

Zimbabwe were asked to bat first and the power failure occurred in the last over of their innings. 

The visiting side were cruising in the late stages of the innings as left-hand batsman Ryan Burl scored 30 against Shakib al Hasan in the 16th over.

Zimbabwe took 11 runs off the 17th over but in the start of the last over of the innings, all the floodlights went off. 

The local time was 9:16pm then. 

Around nine minutes later, the power of the floodlights started to return and eventually play resumed after a total of 11 minutes. 

This is the second time power failure happened at SBNCS during an international match after the first incident in an ODI between Bangladesh and Pakistan.

1ST T20I

ZIMBABWE INNINGS             R    B

Taylor c Mahmudullah b Taijul     6    5

Masakadza c Sabbir b Saifuddin    34    26

Ervine c Mosaddek b Mustafizur     11    14

Williams c & b Mosaddek         2    3

Maruma run out (Shakib)        1    2

Burl not out                57    32

Mutombodzi not out            27    26

Extras (lb 2, w 4)             6

Total (18 Overs)             144/5

Fall Of Wickets

1-7 (Taylor), 2-51 (Ervine), 3-56 (Masakadza), 4-56 (Williams), 5-63 (Maruma)


Shakib 4-0-49-0, Taijul 3-0-26-1, Saifuddin 4-0-26-1, Mustafizur 4-0-31-1, Mosaddek 3-0-10-1


Liton b Chatara             19     14

Soumya c Madziva b Jarvis         4     7

Shakib c Masakadza b Chatara     1    3

Mushfiqur  c Taylor b Jarvis         0     1

Mahmudullah lbw b Burl         14     16

Sabbir c Burl b Madziva         15     15

Mosaddek not out             30     24

Afif c Masakadza b Madziva         52     26

Saifuddin not out             6     2

Extras (b 1, lb 1, nb 2, w 3)        7

Total (17.4 overs)            148/7

Fall Of Wickets

1-26 (Liton), 2-26 (Soumya), 3-27 (Mushfiqur), 4-29 (Shakib), 5-56 (Mahmudullah), 6-60 (Sabbir), 7-142 (Afif)


Williams 3-0-31-0, Jarvis 4-0-31-2, Chatara 4-0-32-2, Burl 3-0-27-1, Madziva 3.4-0-25-2    

Bangladesh won by three wickets

MoM: Afif Hossain

Facebook 54
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail