• Saturday, Jan 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:44 am

BPL GC looking for new franchises

  • Published at 08:49 pm August 4th, 2019

The BPL governing council is looking to add an eighth team in the tournament

The Bangladesh Premier League T20 governing council is looking to rope in new franchise owners for the upcoming edition of the tournament. 

The seventh edition of BPL T20 is scheduled to start in early December this year. 

The agreements between the franchises and the BCB expired following the sixth edition of the tournament in January-February this year.

DBL Group, owners of Chittagong Vikings, have informed the BCB of their decision to discontinue in the tournament. 

While Sylhet Sports Limited, owners of Sylhet Sixers, are in confusion if they want to continue investing in the money-spinning tournament.

The BPL GC is also looking to add an eighth team in the tournament.

“Chittagong owners have informed us that they do not want to continue, while we are looking to add an eighth team to the tournament. So we have already regulated Expression of Interest, asking for new owners for two teams,” said BCB vice president and BPL T20 draft commissioner Mahbub Anam to the media at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Sunday.

It is understood that at least three business groups have already expressed interest to take over the Chittagong franchise.

The BPL GC is now in motion to renew agreement with the existing franchises for the new circle, which will prevail from the seventh till the 10th edition of the tournament.

“We are writing to the six franchises [Dhaka Dynamites, Comilla Victorians, Sylhet, Khulna Titans, Rajshahi Kings and Rangpur Riders] to come to discussion for a mutual agreement. There is no certainty that these six franchises will remain, so we need to have a discussion with all the franchises,” Mahbub explained.