• Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 04:31 pm

Moments: Double strike for Mustafiz

  • Published at 11:06 pm July 2nd, 2019
Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman bowls during their World Cup match against India in Birmingham Tuesday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik from Birmingham

A double strike in the 39th over brought Bangladesh back to some extent as at one stage

India were cruising after electing to bat first against Bangladesh at Edgbaston as their opening pair scored 180 runs within 30 overs.

In-form opener Rohit Sharma picked up his fourth century of the World Cup and scored 104 off 92 deliveries while Lokesh Rahul scored 77 off 92 balls. 

After 38 overs, the score was 237 for 2. It was a perfect stage set for India to go ballistic in the slog overs as Indian skipper Virat Kohli and number four batsman Rishabh Pant were well set at the crease. 

Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe bin Mortaza brought on Mustafizur Rahman in the attack and the left hander provided a vital breakthrough - not once but twice for the Tigers. Mustafiz took the wicket of Kohli with the second ball of the over as the batsman tried to pull but got caught in deep square leg. India sent big-hitter Hardik Pandya in the number five position. 

But Mustafiz, in the fourth ball of the over picked up the wicket of Pandya who was caught by Soumya Sarker in the first slip scoring two-ball naught. 

A double strike in the 39th over brought Bangladesh back to some extent as at one stage, India were eying a target close to 400 with the batting strength they have. 

Mustafiz did the same thing in an earlier match when he took the wicket of Shimron Hetmyer and Andre Russell in same over during the slog over against West Indies and Tigers ultimately won crucial fixture. 



Rahul c Mushfiqur b Rubel     77    92

Rohit c Liton b Soumya     104    92

Kohli c Rubel b Mustafizur     26    27

Pant c Mosaddek b Shakib     48    41

Pandya c Soumya b Mustafizur0    2

Dhoni c Shakib b Mustafizur     35    33

Karthik c Mosaddek b Mustafizur 8    9

Bhuvneshwar run out         2    3

Shami b Mustafizur         1    2

Bumrah not out         0    0

Extras (lb6, nb1, w6)         13 

Total (50 overs) 314/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-180, 2-195, 3-237, 4-237, 5-277, 6-298, 7-311, 8-314, 9-314 


Mashrafe 5-0-36-0, Saifuddin 7-0-59-0, Mustafizur 10-1-59-5, Shakib 10-0-41-1, Mosaddek 4-0-32-0, Rubel 8-0-48-1, Soumya 6-0-33-1


Tamim b Shami             22    31 

Soumya c Kohli b Pandya         33    38

Shakib c Karthik b Pandya         66    74

Mushfiq c Shami b Chahal         24    23 

Liton c Karthik b Pandya         22    24 

Mosaddek b Bumrah             3    7 

Sabbir b Bumrah             36    36 

Saifuddin not out             51    38 

Mashrafe c Dhoni b Bhuvneshwar     8    5 

Rubel b Bumrah             9    11 

Mustafizur b Bumrah             0    1 

Extras (1b, 1lb, 10w)            12 

Total (48 overs)             286 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-39, 2-74, 3-121, 4-162, 5-173, 6-179, 7-245, 8-257, 9-286, 10-286 


Bhuvneshwar 9-0-51-1, Bumrah 10-1-55-4, Shami 9-0-68-1, Chahal 10-0-50-1, Pandya 10-0-60-3

India won by 28 runs

MoM: Rohit Sharma