• Tuesday, Aug 11, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:14 pm

Jaya Ahsan's film Ek Je Chhilo Raja wins Indian National Awards

  • Published at 09:33 pm August 10th, 2019
Jaya Ahsan
Jaya Ahsan in the film Ek Je Chhilo Raja | Facebook

This is the second film of Jaya, which has won the coveted award, after Bishorjon won it in 2017

The Indian Bangali film Ek Je Chhilo Raja, starring Bangladeshi actor Jaya Ahsan, has won the 66th Indian National Award for Best Bengali Regional Film on Friday in New Delhi.

This is the second film of Jaya, which has won the coveted award, after Bishorjon won it in 2017. Jaya made post about the achievement on her verified Facebook page, which reads: "Srijit Mukherji directed Ek Je Chhilo Raja has won the 66th Indian National Award for Best Bengali Regional Film. I am very happy to hear this news for two particular reasons. In 2017 this same award was won by Kaushik Ganguly directed Bisorjon. I played one of the lead characters in that film. I also acted in this year's winner in the same category, Ek Je Chhilo Raja.

"The second reason for happiness is that the setting of this film is in Bhawal region of Bangladesh. As part of the research team for the film, I was involved in collecting the information about Bhawal pronunciation and dialect. Coincidentally, both films were set in Bangladesh, which completes my joy regarding this matter. I heartily congratulate the entire team of Ek Je Chhilo Raja and its production house SVF films." 

The winners of India's 66th National Film Awards were announced in New Delhi on Friday. The jury comprised of Rahul Rawail, AS Kanal, and Utpal Bhorpujari. Over 400 films were submitted in the feature film category, and 256 films were submitted in the non-feature category.

The Best Feature Film award went to Hellaro, a film about women empowerment in a patriarchal society. The Best Direction award went to Aditya Dhar for Uri: The Surgical Strike. Best Hindi Film award went to Andhadhun.

The Best Actor award for male was shared by Ayushmann Khurrana for Andhadhun, and Vicky Kaushal for Uri. The Best Actor award for female went to Keerthy Suresh for Mahanati.

Swanand Kirkire in Chumbak won Best Supporting Actor male, and Surekha Sikri in Badhaai Ho won the Best Supporting Actor female. 

Best Original Screenplay award went to Rahul Ravindran for Chi La Sow, and the Best Adapted Screenplay award went to Andhadhun writers Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemant Rao, and Pooja Ladha Surti.

Akshay Kumar starrer Padman won the award for Best Film on Social Issues. Sanjay Leela Bhansali won the award for Best Music Direction in Padmaavat.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail