• Tuesday, Mar 09, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:01 am

Bangladesh Short Film Forum celebrates it’s 31 year anniversary

  • Published at 09:42 pm August 26th, 2017
  • Last updated at 01:42 pm September 22nd, 2017
Bangladesh Short Film Forum celebrates it’s 31 year anniversary
Bangladesh Short Film Forum, the organisation of young Bangladeshi film makers, is celebrating 31 years of alternative film movement. Formed on August 24, 1986 by a group of young independent filmmakers and activists who were then campaigning for creative and aesthetically rich cinema, the organisation has passed chalked out elaborate programs to celebrate the occasion. Starting with lighting candles, the participants observed one minute’s silence in remembrance of the demised members of the organisation. The second session of the daylong program started with cutting a cake, which was later followed by an open discussion session. Film makers and members of the advisory panel of BSFF, Manjare Hasan Murad, Zahidur Rahman Anjan and Syed Imran Hossain, took part in the discussion along with Mridul Mamun, the acting general secretary of BSFF, among others. Professor Dr Zakir Hossain Raju, who is also the president of the organisation, has presided over the session. Aside from reminiscing their memories with the organisation, the speakers also discussed the future of Bangladeshi film in the session. To celebrate its 31st founding anniversary, BSFF also organised a day long film-screening session on August 26. Selected independent films, made between the years 1985 to 2005, including Morshedul Islam’s Agami, Tanvir Mokammel’s Hulia, Tareque Masud’s Adamsurat, Enayet Karim Babul’s Chakki, Tareq Shahriar’s Kalighar and Shamim Akter’s Se, will be projected throughout the day. However, throughout its 31 years of journey, the forum featured some of the most notable young Bangladeshi film makers among its members, including Morshedul Islam, Tanvir Mokammel, Tareque Masud, Enayet Karim Babul, Tareq Shahrier, Shameem Akhter, Manjare Hasin Murad, Yasmin Kabir, Nurul Alam Atique, Zahidur Rahim Anjan, Rashed Chowdhury, and Akram Khan. The forum is mostly noted for organising the biennial and non-competitive international short and independent film festivals.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail