• Monday, Dec 10, 2018
  • Last Update : 08:45 am

Bangladesh picked “Oggatonama” for Oscar

  • Published at 04:48 pm September 27th, 2016
  • Last updated at 05:07 pm September 27th, 2016
Bangladesh picked “Oggatonama” for Oscar
Among four films, the committee has chosen Oggatonama, a Tauqir Ahmed film to take part under the Foreign Language Film category. The film which released in Bangladesh on August 19, won a jury mention at an independent film festival in Naples, Italy, and was screened at the Le Marché du Film on the sidelines of this year's Cannes festival. The film cast consists of Fazlur Rahman Babu, Shahiduzzaman Selim, Nipun, Mosharraf Karim, Shatabdi Wadud, Abul Hayat and Shehed.

The film premiered in Paris on September 7. At the award ceremony of the Film Fest Kosova, Tauquir Ahmed took home the awards for Best Director and Best Screenplay. The film also travelled to USA to participate in the Washington DC South Asian Film Festival from September 9-11. It will then be screened at the Religion Today Film Festival in Trento, Italy from October 7-17, before going back to USA to the Seattle South Asian Film Festival set to take place from October 14-23. 

The board of nine members of the committee are very hopeful about the movies success. They think the film has met the criteria of a film worthy of the Oscars.

Hosted by Bangladesh Federation of Film Society, the Oscar Bangladesh Committee made a call for movies earlier for the nomination, setting the deadline at September 21. Three movies from Impress Telefilm and one from Khona Talkies were shortlisted for selection. The other movies are Krishno Pokkho by Shawon Ahmed, Under Construction by Rubaiyat Hossain and Dorpon Bishorjon by Shumon Dhar along with Oggatonama. Finally Oggatonama was selected by members of the committee.

Nine members of the committee are Prof Abdus Selim, president (BFFS), Delowar Jahan Jhantu, president, Bangladesh Film Director Associations, Md Saiful Islam Chowdhury, president, Bangladesh Motion Pictures Exhibitions Association, Shakib Khan, actor and president of Bangladesh Film Artist Association, Reza Latif, president, Bangladesh Cinematography Society, Abu Musa Debu, president, Bangladesh Film Editors Guilds, Shamim Akhtar, independent film maker and writer and Arifa Zaman Moushumi, actress.