• Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:05 pm

Syed Manzoorul Islam’s latest book ‘Koylatala O Anyanya Golpo’ launched

  • Published at 05:02 pm February 9th, 2019
SMI book launch
Photo: Dhaka Tribune

Lit news

Anyaprokash marked the 68th birth anniversary of eminent academic, critic, novelist, and short story writer Syed Manzoorul Islam with the launch of his latest short story collection Koylatala O Anyanya Golpo at the Sufia Kamal auditorium of the Bangladesh National Museum on January 18. 

A welcome speech was given by Aynaprokash’s chief executive, Mazharul Islam, while National Professor Anisuzzaman presided over the book launch. Novelist and Kaler Kontho Editor Imdadul Haq Milon, Bangla Academy Director General Habibullah Siraji, essayist-researcher Mofidul Hoque and Rabindra University Vice Chancellor Prof Biswajit Ghosh, among others, took part as discussants at the event. 

Koylatala O Anyanya Golpo consists of ten stories, with themes as diverse as the Liberation War, rural and urban lifestyles, and the complexities of human relationships. 

Imdadul Haq, talking about the book, called Syed Manzoorul Islam “the greatest story-writer of our time,” adding that “once you get inside his stories, it’s impossible to come out of it.” 

Biswajit Ghosh congratulated Islam by saying that “his principal specialty is that he can tell stories in a simple, succinct manner.” 

Prof Anisuzzaman remarked about the surreal nature of Manzoorul Islam’s works, saying that “a certain form of fear, grief, terror, and gruesomeness compliments his works.” 

The author talked about how he writes in the spoken language of Bangladesh and that behind every story he writes “there is a realism present.”  

Syed Manzoorul Islam is the author of several short story collections and novels such as Shrestho Golpo (1994), Prem O Prarthonar Golpo (2005), Adhakhana Manush (2006) Kanagalir Manushera (2009), Bela Obelar Galpo (2012), among considerable others. His stories in English is collected in the collection The Merman’s Prayer and Other Stories (2013).