• Friday, Feb 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:47 pm

Residents of the enclaves, Day of exchange and now

  • Published at 02:21 am July 31st, 2019

Bangladesh and India exchanged a total of 162 enclaves on July 31 midnight, 2015 with the land boundary agreement after seven decades of legal limbo. The Land Boundary Agreement was signed on 16 May 1974 between Indira Gandhi and Sheikh Mujibur Rahman  Bangladesh quickly ratified the agreement in 1974 but India did not.  On 6 June 2015, Modi ratified the agreement during his visit to the Bangladesh capital Dhaka. In the presence of Modi and Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, the foreign secretaries of the two countries signed the instruments of the land exchange.