• Tuesday, May 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:56 am
Is BJP on the rise in West Bengal?

Is BJP on the rise in West Bengal?

South Asia

Mon, May 20 2019

Anti-BJP parties are reeling from exit poll shock

Tight security as Indians vote in final...

Tight security as Indians vote in final...

South Asia

Sun, May 19 2019

Around 900 million Indians are eligible to vote in the seven-phase election

West Bengal: Kingmaker?

West Bengal: Kingmaker?

South Asia

Sat, May 18 2019

Only a few seats in West Bengal are still up for grabs

India General Elections 2019: Can BJP...

India General Elections 2019: Can BJP...

South Asia

Tue, May 14 2019

Unlike the four other states neighbouring Bangladesh, It is difficult for BJP to make significant inroads...

59 seats including 8 in West Bengal...

59 seats including 8 in West Bengal...

South Asia

Sun, May 12 2019

Violence mars polls in West Bengal, largest among 5 Indian states bordering Bangladesh

A grand waste of money

A grand waste of money

Mithun Dey

Wed, Apr 17 2019

Assam’s National Register of Citizens is an exercise in futility 

Legendary cricket coach Altaf Hossain...

Legendary cricket coach Altaf Hossain...

Cricket

Wed, Feb 27 2019

Syed Altaf Hossain became a cricket coach with the National Sports Council in 1973 and played a pioneering...

Refugees in West Bengal get land titles...

Refugees in West Bengal get land titles...

South Asia

Tue, Jan 29 2019

There are an estimated 150,000 families in the eastern state's refugee colonies

Tripura CM Biplab Deb to campaign in...

Tripura CM Biplab Deb to campaign in...

South Asia

Thu, Dec 6 2018

'The Tripura CM is scheduled to address public meetings in remote areas of Bengal’s...

Bengali nationalism fights back

Bengali nationalism fights back

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Fri, Nov 30 2018

What sentiments can Mamata inculcate in the people of West Bengal? 

Hasina, Modi inaugurate construction...

Hasina, Modi inaugurate construction...

Development

Tue, Sep 18 2018

The two premiers have also inaugurated the constructions of two railway projects

There won’t be a united Bengal

There won’t be a united Bengal

Opinion

Thu, Aug 30 2018

The relationship between the two Bengals are complicated, to say the least

Trinamool office blast kills 1, injures...

Trinamool office blast kills 1, injures...

South Asia

Thu, Aug 23 2018

Explosion centred on political office in West Midnapore, 130km from state capital Kolkata

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Opinion

Tue, Jul 31 2018

The renaming of West Bengal to Bangla will unleash a world of confusion

Twitter rips into Mamata over West Bengal...

The Bangla jokes you never wanted

Around the Web

Sat, Jul 28 2018

West Bengal will henceforth be known as Bangla

State of West Bengal approves name change...

State of West Bengal approves name change...

South Asia

Fri, Jul 27 2018

According to a leader of West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress, led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee,...

Not just Trump: India has separated...

Not just Trump: India has separated...

Magazine

Thu, Jul 12 2018

In West Bengal, the detained Bangladesh immigrants are sent to prisons while their children are kept...

In uncharted waters

In uncharted waters

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Thu, Jul 12 2018

Is West Bengal about to see more social unrest?

The reality of being India’s...

The reality of being India’s...

Opinion

Wed, Jun 6 2018

We can choose our friends, but not our neighbours

Envoy: PM Hasina’s India visit very...

Envoy: PM Hasina’s India visit very...

Foreign Affairs

Fri, Jun 1 2018

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's last week visit to West Bengal has been very successful in

PM Hasina to meet the press...

PM Hasina to meet the press...

Bangladesh

Tue, May 29 2018

The briefing will be held at Ganabhaban Wednesday afternoon