• Monday, Oct 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:06 am
As India votes, parties court farmers...

As India votes, parties court farmers...

South Asia

Sat, May 11 2019

A mix of extreme weather, spiraling operating costs and plunging food prices has thrown millions of India's...

Voting begins in suspended Aditmari...

Voting begins in suspended Aditmari...

Election

Sun, May 5 2019

The polls were suspended during fifth-phase upazila parishad election on March 10

Should Bangladesh worry about the Indian...

Should Bangladesh worry about the Indian...

Ziauddin Choudhury

Wed, May 1 2019

Despite the apparently friendly relations with India, there still remain unresolved issues between the...

Egypt holds referendum that could keep...

Egypt holds referendum that could keep...

Middle East

Sat, Apr 20 2019

Sisi's supporters say the changes are necessary to give him more time to complete major development...

Voting begins in Finland's 'anti-austerity...

Voting begins in Finland's 'anti-austerity...

Europe

Sun, Apr 14 2019

Polling stations close at 1700 GMT, with a provisional vote count expected before midnight

To vote or not to vote? The question...

To vote or not to vote? The question...

Middle East

Fri, Apr 5 2019

Israel's Arab citizens, who account for some 17.5% of the population, have been engaged in a debate...

Thai political parties to form democracy...

Thai political parties to form democracy...

World

Wed, Mar 27 2019

The junta appeared to be in pole position to return to power as a civilian administration after preliminary...

Thai election complaints mount as junta...

Thai election complaints mount as junta...

South Asia

Mon, Mar 25 2019

Election officials released the first unofficial preliminary results for seats in the lower house Monday...

The troubled rebirth of DUCSU

The troubled rebirth of DUCSU

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Thu, Mar 14 2019

A premier player in the history of Bangladesh has been resuscitated in erratic fashion

In pictures: Upazila polls 2019

In pictures: Upazila polls 2019

Image Gallery

Sun, Mar 10 2019

Some 207 chairman candidates, 386 vice chairman candidates and 249 woman vice chairman candidates are...

A-voting we will go

A-voting we will go

Qazi Mustabeen Noor

Tue, Jan 1 2019

Voting makes you feel like a part of something

India, Nepal, Saarc and OIC happy with...

India, Nepal, Saarc and OIC happy with...

Election

Mon, Dec 31 2018

The delegations had visited a number of polling centres in Dhaka and areas adjacent to the city during...

Voting postponed in 29 polling...

Voting postponed in 29 polling...

Election

Sun, Dec 30 2018

EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed maintains that the election was held amid festivity

Peaceful voting across nation

Peaceful voting across nation

Election

Sun, Dec 30 2018

Reports from across the nation show a large numbers of voters are participating in the election

380 polling centres marked ‘important’...

380 polling centres marked ‘important’...

Election

Sat, Dec 29 2018

There are a total of 632 centres in the district’s five seats

Why you should vote

Why you should vote

Shakil Ahmed

Tue, Dec 25 2018

Even if it doesn’t make a difference today, it will make a difference tomorrow

For a truly free and fair election

For a truly free and fair election

Sadrul Hasan Mazumder

Thu, Nov 15 2018

Election monitoring is imperative to maintaining a democracy

Afghanistan delays vote in Kandahar...

Afghanistan delays vote in Kandahar...

World

Fri, Oct 19 2018

General Abdul Razeq, the Kandahar police commander, was killed outside the provincial governor's...

What the opposition alliance must...

What the opposition alliance must...

Shafquat Rabbee

Sun, Oct 7 2018

The key is in upholding our constitutional rights

A cure for democracy?

A cure for democracy?

Opinion

Tue, Jul 31 2018

An online voting system based on blockchain technology could be the answer

Gazipur city polls: Voting suspended...

GCC polls: Voting suspended in 9...

Election

Tue, Jun 26 2018

The voters have exercised their franchise to elect a mayor and 76 councillors for a five-year term