• Monday, Nov 29, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:35 am
Man dressed as Joker injures 17 on Tokyo...

Man dressed as Joker injures 17 on Tokyo...

East Asia

Sun, Oct 31 2021

Culprit also started a fire

6.1-magnitude quake shakes Tokyo, more...

6.1-magnitude quake shakes Tokyo

East Asia

Fri, Oct 8 2021

It was one of the strongest temblors to rock Tokyo since the massive 9.0 earthquake and tsunami disaster...

Tokyo douses Olympic flame closing pandemic...

Tokyo douses Olympic flame closing pandemic...

East Asia

Mon, Aug 9 2021

The United States finished top of the tally with 39 gold medals, one more than rivals China at 38 and...

Tokyo Olympic 2020: Medals made from...

Tokyo Olympic 2020: Medals made from...

World

Mon, Aug 2 2021

All the medals awarded in the Games are made from recycled metals, a first in the history of the...

Angry Djokovic loses to Carreno Busta...

Angry Djokovic loses to Carreno Busta...

Sports

Sat, Jul 31 2021

The 20-time major champion Djokovic, whose Golden Grand Slam hopes were dashed by Alexander Zverev on...

OP-ED: To watch or not to watch?

OP-ED: To watch or not to watch?

The Conversation UK

Sat, Jul 24 2021

The Tokyo Olympics raises difficult questions for fans

Tokyo enters fresh coronavirus emergency...

Tokyo enters fresh Covid emergency as...

Coronavirus

Mon, Jul 12 2021

Japan has not seen the explosive coronavirus outbreak seen elsewhere but has recorded more than 815,440...

Tokyo Olympics organizers bow to pressure...

Olympics organizers bow to pressure...

World

Fri, Jul 9 2021

Japan has not suffered the explosive outbreak seen elsewhere but has recorded over 800,000 cases and...

Japan to declare Covid-19 emergency...

Japan to declare Covid-19 emergency...

World

Thu, Jul 8 2021

Japan has not experienced the kind of explosive Covid-19 outbreaks seen in many other countries but has...

OP-ED: Are the Tokyo Olympics sending...

OP-ED: Are the Tokyo Olympics sending...

The Conversation UK

Wed, Jul 7 2021

The games will go ahead, but the collateral damage could be significant

'We cannot postpone again,' says Tokyo...

Tokyo 2020 chief: We cannot postpone...

East Asia

Thu, Jun 3 2021

Japan is battling a fourth wave of infections with just 50 days left to the start of the Games

Biden backs Japan PM on holding safe...

Biden backs Suga on holding safe and...

World

Sat, Apr 17 2021

The Tokyo Games are due to open in July, with only Japanese spectators in the stands, after already being...

Bangabandhu’s birth anniversary celebrated...

Bangabandhu’s birth anniversary celebrated...

Foreign Affairs

Wed, Mar 17 2021

Bangladesh Ambassador to Japan Shahbuddin Ahmed urged everyone to learn from the ideology and life of...

Hundreds gather in Tokyo to protest...

Hundreds gather in Tokyo to protest...

South-East Asia

Mon, Feb 1 2021

One of the protest organizers said nearly 800 people attended the demonstration on Monday

Olympics delay cost Tokyo $2.8bn

Olympics delay cost Tokyo $2.8bn

Sports

Fri, Dec 4 2020

The IOC has previously said it will contribute $650m towards covering postponement costs

Our new man in Tokyo

Our new man in Tokyo

Foreign Affairs

Fri, Sep 11 2020

Shahabuddin Ahmed takes charge of the Bangladesh mission

Black Lives Matter protesters march...

Black Lives Matter protesters march...

World

Sun, Jun 14 2020

Organizers said about 3,500 people took part in the protest

Japan lifts Tokyo's state of emergency,...

Japan lifts Tokyo's state of emergency,...

Asia Pacific

Mon, May 25 2020

Tokyo reported 8 new infections on Monday, media says

The curious case of Japan's mysterious...

The curious case of Japan's mysterious...

Coronavirus

Sun, May 24 2020

A little over a month ago, health experts were saying Japan risked becoming one of the world’s...

Will things ever be the same?

Will things ever be the same?

Shireen Huq

Wed, Apr 22 2020

How does a pandemic affect our social, moral, and psychological health?

Japan, Olympics chief agree to postpone...

Japan, Olympics chief agree to postpone...

Other Sports

Tue, Mar 24 2020

"I proposed to postpone for about a year and president Bach responded with 100 percent agreement,"...