• Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018
  • Last Update : 05:16 pm
US State Dept Country Report on Terrorism:...

Terrorism on decline in 2017 but remains...

Militancy

Fri, Sep 21 2018

The report highlights the lingering threat posed to Bangladesh by transnational groups such as ISIS and...

11 dead, dozens hurt as driver rams...

11 dead, dozens hurt as driver rams...

Asia Pacific

Thu, Sep 13 2018

Videos of the incident circulated briefly on social media, but were quickly removed by censors

Militancy will never win

Militancy will never win

Editorial

Sat, Jul 28 2018

It is commendable that the government has not only put in the efforts to eliminate terror, but also to...

Please empty your pockets

Please empty your pockets

Abak Hussain

Sat, Jul 28 2018

How terror changed our lives

British-Bangladeshi found guilty of...

British-Bangladeshi guilty of plot to...

Europe

Thu, Jul 19 2018

Naa’imur Rahman was arrested in London on November 28, shortly after the last of a number of meetings...

Kamal: Bangladesh will not be a staging...

Kamal: Bangladesh will not be a staging...

Bangladesh

Sun, Jul 15 2018

The home minister made the remark while briefing reporters at the Secretariat after holding talks with...

The need for an action plan

The need for an action plan

Opinion

Tue, Jul 10 2018

Preventing and countering extremism in Bangladesh the right way

Holey was different (for some of...

Holey was different (for some of...

SN Rasul

Tue, Jul 3 2018

How can we write in the aftermath of a tragedy?

Quader: We are safer than most...

Quader: We are safer than most...

Dhaka

Sun, Jul 1 2018

Obaidul, also Awami League general secretary, made the comment after paying a visit to the old site of...

IS has not been eradicated

IS has not been eradicated

Azeem Ibrahim

Sat, Jun 23 2018

Pakistan is now a volatile cocktail of tribalism, sectarianism, and Islamism

Australian faces terror charges after...

Aussie charged with terror after BD...

World

Mon, Jun 18 2018

Police allege Amin was "planning to travel to Bangladesh to meet with people who held similar beliefs...

PM: Drives against militancy, terrorism,...

PM: Drives against militancy, terrorism,...

Bangladesh

Thu, Jun 7 2018

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday said the drives against militancy, terrorism, and drugs,...

Terrorists are human too

Terrorists are human too

Special Supplement

Tue, May 22 2018

Solutions for terrorism, be it in Bangladesh or elsewhere in the world, always rely on viewing the perpetrators...

Do tolerant people become...

Do tolerant people become...

Afsan Chowdhury

Fri, May 18 2018

Tolerance is not good or bad but a tool to combat extremism  

The right kind of religious...

The right kind of religious...

Opinion

Tue, May 15 2018

It is time to stop the exploitation of religion

The incel rebellion has already...

The incel rebellion has already...

Anik Kabir

Mon, May 7 2018

An individual’s inability to be satisfied could well be the most powerful tool that exists

President: Dhaka to work with Riyadh...

President: Dhaka to work with Riyadh...

Foreign Affairs

Sat, May 5 2018

President Hamid highly appreciated the efforts of Saudi King to establish the Islamic Military Counter...

A world without firearms

A world without firearms

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Apr 27 2018

What would that world look like?

Mayhem in Toronto

Mayhem in Toronto

Shawkat Hussain

Tue, Apr 24 2018

Toronto won’t be the same again, for a very long time

This is not our Toronto

This is not our Toronto

Purna Hassan

Tue, Apr 24 2018

We will honour the deceased by sticking to the facts

For peace to prevail

For peace to prevail

Opinion

Fri, Apr 6 2018

Schools and mosques which highlight Islam as a religion of peace are essential for continued peace and...