• Saturday, Sep 22, 2018
  • Last Update : 11:04 pm
NBR to monitor tax-evading private sector...

NBR to monitor tax-evading private sector...

Regulations

Fri, Jul 6 2018

Currently, the organizations are submitting the statements and details of tax collection at source.

In need of reform

In need of reform

Editorial

Fri, Jun 29 2018

A necessary step forward would be introducing automation into the process

Bangladesh’s tax gap to GDP ratio highest...

Bangladesh’s tax gap to GDP ratio highest...

Business

Thu, Jun 28 2018

Bhutan is in second position behind Bangladesh with a 6.7% gap, while the gaps in Afghanistan and Maldives...

BMBA: Tax gap should be increased to...

BMBA: Tax gap should be increased to...

Business

Tue, Jun 12 2018

Bangladesh Merchant Bankers Association (BMBA) suggested that the tax gap between listed and non-listed...

IMF: Bangladesh needs to boost productive...

IMF: Bangladesh needs to boost productive...

Bangladesh

Sat, Jun 9 2018

The IMF recommends boosting public investment to upgrade infrastructure, spur more private sector activity,...

National budget of Tk4,68,200 crore...

National budget of Tk4,68,200 crore...

Bangladesh

Mon, Jun 4 2018

This will be his 12th budget so far and also the last one of the current government in its second...

Understanding the demand for illegally...

Understanding the demand for illegally...

Business

Sun, May 20 2018

90% of all iPhones sold in Bangladesh are imported illegally, depriving the government of Tk200cr in...

NBR observes 'Halkhata' to encourage...

NBR observes 'Halkhata' to encourage...

Economy

Sun, Apr 15 2018

The NBR chairman said 'Halkhata' has built a bridge between the NBR and taxpayers

High Court orders govt to raise taxes...

High Court orders govt to raise taxes...

Uncategorized

Thu, Apr 12 2018

The High Court has ordered the government to levy taxes on internet-based international service providers...

Unfavourable tax policy a major barrier...

Unfavourable tax policy a major barrier...

Business

Fri, Apr 6 2018

'Vietnam is receiving more FDI than Bangladesh'

NBR proposes tax at source on export...

NBR proposes tax at source on export...

Business

Wed, Apr 4 2018

'If there is a long term tax policy, it helps business people to make informed investment

Dhaka, Chittagong stock exchanges call...

Dhaka, Chittagong stock exchanges call...

Business

Tue, Apr 3 2018

'This will help attract the small investors to the capital market, and ultimately ensure sustainable...

Stock exchanges want tax on listed companies...

Stock exchanges want tax on listed companies...

Business

Mon, Apr 2 2018

Currently, publicly listed companies have to pay a minimum of 25% and maximum of 40% tax based on their...

Punish the banks, not the people

Punish the banks, not the people

Editorial

Thu, Mar 29 2018

Banks, especially state-owned ones, have continuously flouted the rules and disbursed loans which have...

Insurers dodged Tk345 crore tax using...

Insurers dodged Tk345 crore tax using...

Business

Mon, Feb 19 2018

'The companies think that they have not evaded any tax and went for legal help. But they will pay the...

Mobile sets being imported to Bangladesh...

Mobile sets being imported to Bangladesh...

Business

Sun, Feb 18 2018

BMPIA sources say the worth of mobile sets in the country is Tk8000cr and 25% is imported illegally

Income tax collection marks 12.6% growth...

Income tax collection marks 12.6% growth...

Business

Tue, Feb 13 2018

At present, there are 33 lakh e-TIN holders in the country, according to the NBR

VAT evasion: 40 companies under LTU...

VAT evasion: 40 companies under LTU...

Business

Mon, Jan 1 2018

'The LTU has also asked the firms to submit financial and other related documents, such as production...

Tax reform is  the only way

Tax reform is the only way

Editorial

Sun, Dec 17 2017

With Bangladesh moving towards bigger and better things in the future, it is crucial that taxation is...

Democracy dies in the dark

Democracy dies in the dark

William Milam , William Milam

Mon, Dec 11 2017

If Americans knew what was going on, they would be terrified

Grameenphone highest taxpayer among...

Grameenphone highest taxpayer among...

Business

Sat, Nov 25 2017

Grameenphone has contributed Tk57,000 crore to the national exchequer from its inception