• Tuesday, Dec 07, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:17 pm
US leads 65 nations in urging Taliban...

US, allies urge Taliban to let Afghans...

South Asia

Mon, Aug 16 2021

‘The US joins the international community in affirming that Afghans and international citizens...

249 rhinos killed in S Africa in past...

249 rhinos killed in S Africa in past...

Africa

Sun, Aug 1 2021

The figure represents 83 more rhino killings compared with the same period in 2020

Speakers: Promoting women in sports...

Speakers: Promoting women in sports...

Other Sports

Mon, Jul 26 2021

The panelists from the webinar  ‘Women In Sport - Challenges And Wins’ discussed about...

Grief and neglect: 10 factory disasters...

Factory disasters in South Asia over...

World

Sat, Jul 10 2021

Many of South Asia's factories operate illegally and without proper fire safety measures

'Talibanned': From kite-running to breakdancing,...

'Talibanned': Afghan pastimes again...

South Asia

Mon, Jul 5 2021

The insurgents have made enormous military and territorial gains since US troops began their final withdrawal...

Malaysia orders 21-day quarantine for...

Malaysia orders 21-day quarantine for...

Asia Pacific

Thu, Jun 24 2021

Other South Asian countries put under the same directive are: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Nepal

Bangladesh third most peaceful country...

BD ahead of India, Pakistan in Global...

Bangladesh

Thu, Jun 17 2021

The country rises seven notches up in 2021 Global Peace Index, ranks 91st

ED: Leaving no one behind

ED: Leaving no one behind

Editorial

Wed, Jun 16 2021

It is very encouraging to see that this focus on the SDGs is paying dividend

Report: Bangladesh among 3 top performers...

BD among 3 top performers in sustainable...

Bangladesh

Mon, Jun 14 2021

Bangladesh ranked 5th in the South Asian region leaving behind India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan

South Asian nations turn to China, Russia...

South Asian nations turn to China, Russia...

South Asia

Wed, Jun 9 2021

India has not said when vaccine exports might resume

OP-ED: Tell me lies

OP-ED: Tell me lies

Farid Erkizia Bakht

Wed, Jun 2 2021

Do we prefer diplomats to follow the Fleetwood Mac model of communication because we cannot bear honesty...

China to stand with Bangladesh, S Asia...

China to stand with Bangladesh, S Asia...

Foreign Affairs

Sat, May 22 2021

China will continue to support the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Bangladesh,...

Unicef: S Asia Covid-19 surge may hit...

Unicef: S Asia Covid-19 surge may hit...

Coronavirus

Fri, May 21 2021

India recorded the highest number of deaths from Covid-19 on a single day in the history of the pandemic...

India records 1.5 million new Covid-19...

India logs 1.5m new infections in a...

South Asia

Fri, May 7 2021

Record 414,188 new Covid-19 cases reported on Friday while deaths swell by 3,915

Record Covid surge takes heavy toll...

Record Covid surge takes heavy toll...

South Asia

Thu, May 6 2021

On Thursday, India reported a record 412,262 new cases and a record 3,980 deaths

What we know about the Indian variant...

What do we know about the Indian Covid...

South Asia

Fri, Apr 30 2021

Experts believe the Indian variant couldn't alone be the reason for India's huge surge, pointing...

IFRC: South Asia fast becoming new global...

'South Asia becoming new global epicentre...

Bangladesh

Fri, Apr 16 2021

The deadlier and more infectious new wave is overwhelming hospitals and social systems

Covid-19 deaths per million: Bangladesh’s...

Covid deaths per 1m: Bangladesh 3rd...

Bangladesh

Thu, Apr 15 2021

However, in terms of total death toll, Bangladesh is one of the top three worst-hit countries in the...

ED: On the road to equality

ED: On the road to equality

Editorial

Tue, Apr 6 2021

Gender parity should not be the domain of privileged classes only

World Bank is conservative about Bangladesh’s...

World Bank is conservative about Bangladesh’s...

Economy

Thu, Apr 1 2021

Growth could very well be 3.6 per cent, which is much lower than the government’s target of 8.2...

UK Minister: Bangabandhu laid foundation...

UK Minister: Bangabandhu laid foundation...

Foreign Affairs

Sun, Mar 28 2021

UK ministers, MPs pay profound tribute to Bangabandhu, laud PM Hasina’s leadership