• Monday, Sep 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:19 am
Time to get tough with 'bully' Facebook...

'Time to get tough with bully...

Tribune Supplements

Thu, Feb 18 2021

Social media giant blocks all media content in a stunning escalation of a dispute with Australian govt...

ED: Don’t let misinformation hinder...

ED: Don’t let misinformation hinder...

Editorial

Sun, Feb 14 2021

It is of the utmost importance that people are made aware of the facts surrounding the vaccine

Facebook says it will take down false...

Facebook says it will take down false...

World

Tue, Feb 9 2021

The social media giant said it would remove groups, pages, and accounts that repeatedly share the debunked...

Kidnappers torture man, post video on...

Kidnappers torture man, post video on...

Nation

Sun, Feb 7 2021

Efforts to rescue victim are underway, according to police

OP-ED: Why do anti-vaccine conspiracy...

OP-ED: Why do anti-vaccine conspiracy...

Mohammad Tareq Hasan

Wed, Feb 3 2021

In confusing times, they fulfil a need for knowledge and certainty

Last man sitting

Last man sitting

D2

Sat, Jan 30 2021

Will the legacy of a statement be lost in a sea of memes?

OP-ED: All the prying eyes

OP-ED: All the prying eyes

Trial by social media makes a bad situation worse

Turkey hits Twitter with ad ban under...

Turkey hits Twitter with ad ban

World

Tue, Jan 19 2021

If the networks continue to ignore the law, Turkey will cut their bandwidth by 50% in April and then...

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle quit...

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle quit...

Europe

Sun, Jan 10 2021

The couple amassed more than 10 million Instagram followers to their Sussex Royal account while they...

OP-ED: How to reduce the spread of fake...

OP-ED: How to reduce the spread of fake...

The Conversation

Sun, Dec 20 2020

Sometimes, it’s best to simply do nothing

OP-ED: Have demonstrations lost their...

OP-ED: Have demonstrations lost their...

Rushmila Rahman

Sun, Dec 6 2020

A clear manifesto is at the heart of any protest

OP-ED: So you’re an influencer?

OP-ED: So you’re an influencer?

Mariha Zaman Khan

Wed, Nov 25 2020

Having a public platform comes with its share of risks -- here’s how to seek help

Victims lament real-world violence fuelled...

Victims lament violence fuelled by social...

World

Tue, Nov 24 2020

Facebook and other social platforms have been condemned for failing to stop a range of abusive and hateful...

Battling misinformation requires educating...

Battling misinformation requires educating...

Bangladesh

Sat, Nov 21 2020

A webinar on misinformation and freedom of expression was organized by Pen Bangladesh on Friday.

WhatsApp payments go live in India

WhatsApp payments go live in India

Southeast Asia

Fri, Nov 6 2020

The payment gateway is supported by more than 140 banks in the country

Social networks fail to corral Trump's...

Social medias fail to corral Trump's...

North America

Thu, Nov 5 2020

Twitter marked a series of Trump's tweets, including one making a false claim about ‘surprise...

OP-ED: Social media and our becoming...

OP-ED: Social media and our becoming...

Mike Ong

Tue, Nov 3 2020

From Morse code to radio, technology for social connectivity has always changed with time

Political ad confusion at Facebook as...

Political ad confusion at Facebook as...

North America

Thu, Oct 29 2020

The social media network also banned new political advertising in the week before the November 3...

Govt: Legal action against misinformation...

Legal action against false info on govt...

Government Affairs

Tue, Oct 13 2020

False statements about government officials, law enforcement agencies are likely to destabilize the law...

Twitter tightens rules to thwart election...

Twitter tightens rules to thwart election...

North America

Sat, Oct 10 2020

Twitter will also start adding warnings and restrictions on tweets labeled as containing misleading information...

Teachers, students warned about social...

Teachers, students warned about social...

Bangladesh

Fri, Oct 9 2020

Directorate of Secondary and Higher Education (DSHE) has given instructions to create awareness