• Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018
  • Last Update : 01:44 am
Nothing to bank on

Nothing to bank on

Editorial

Fri, Oct 12 2018

This wreaks havoc to the lives of thousands of people who live along the banks of these rivers

10,000 trapped, 23 villages submerged...

10,000 trapped, 23 villages submerged...

Bangladesh

Tue, Sep 11 2018

44 gates of the Teesta barrage have been opened to control water flow

Golden sigh

Golden sigh

Shammi Huda

Mon, Aug 13 2018

Bengalis do it better

In Pictures: Floating market of...

In Pictures: Floating market of...

Image Gallery

Fri, Aug 10 2018

The floating guava market represents the riverine lifestyle of rural Bangla

Water levels in 54 rivers rise

Water levels in 54 rivers rise

Nation

Sun, Jul 8 2018

Among the 94 monitored stations, one river station has been registered steady while water levels at 10...

Saving our rivers  is a worthy

Saving our rivers is a worthy

Editorial

Sun, Jul 1 2018

It is time to get serious about protecting the rivers that can still be saved

Nothing more to occupy

Nothing more to occupy

Ekram Kabir

Sat, Jun 9 2018

In our greed for money, we have forgotten nature

‘Preservation of rivers and canals can...

‘Preservation of rivers and canals can...

Dhaka

Mon, Jun 4 2018

During the rainy season every year, the citizens of Dhaka have to wade through water

An active approach  to climate...

An active approach to climate...

Editorial

Sat, Mar 24 2018

Failing to protect the environmental integrity of our country is a shame shared by us all

The lifeblood of our nation

The lifeblood of our nation

Editorial

Thu, Mar 15 2018

To save our rivers, the government must act urgently

International Day of Action for Rivers:...

International Day of Action for Rivers:...

Special

Wed, Mar 14 2018

'We have records of the water and history of seven dying rivers – Buritista, Ghoramara, Jamuneshwari,...

Protect the lifelines of

Protect the lifelines of

Opinion

Fri, Jan 26 2018

While irreparable harm has already been done, there is still time to right this wrong

Why so flooded?

Why so flooded?

Opinion

Sat, Aug 26 2017

To tackle the flood problem, all countries sharing a common river basin need to act together

Flowing in the right direction

Flowing in the right direction

Faruque Hassan

Mon, Mar 20 2017

Water sustainability is a shared responsibility

Our rivers are dying

Our rivers are dying

Md Ashik Sarder , Md Ashik Sarder

Wed, Feb 1 2017

Many rivers in the northern and south-western part of Bangladesh have already died, and some have seen...

Save our rivers before it is too...

Save our rivers before it is too...

Editorial

Thu, Dec 22 2016

We have made mistakes in the way we have treated our rivers so far. Let us not continue to make those...

Govt forms committee to protect...

Govt forms committee to protect...

Environment

Fri, Dec 16 2016

The government has set up a high-level committee to save rivers around Dhaka and Chittagong's Karnaphuli...

Protect our rivers

Protect our rivers

Editorial

Wed, Dec 7 2016

It is high time that polluters paid the price for the damage they have caused

The river that eats up land and...

The river that eats up land and...

Climate Change

Sat, Oct 15 2016

Piyara Begum once had a happy life in Garuhara village by the Brahmaputra River in northern Bangladesh,...