• Thursday, Nov 15, 2018
  • Last Update : 10:18 am
Repatriation: Bangladesh seeks sustained...

Repatriation: Bangladesh seeks sustained...

Rohingya Crisis

Tue, Nov 13 2018

Bangladesh seeks sustained international pressure on Myanmar for safe return of Rohingyas when the repatriation...

Promised land and homes, Sri Lankan...

Promised land and homes, Sri Lankan...

South Asia

Fri, Oct 26 2018

Nearly 4,000 of more than 62,000 refugees living in camps in the south Indian state of Tamil Nadu have...

Impending development requires...

Impending development requires...

Mahmudur Rahman

Wed, Oct 24 2018

Many challenges to overcome 

Why and how Oxfam produced ‘The Testimony...

Why and how Oxfam produced ‘The Testimony...

Julian Francis

Sat, Oct 20 2018

These testimonies highlight the horror that preceded Bangladesh’s independence

PM calls on global community to resolve...

PM calls on global community to resolve...

Bangladesh

Mon, Sep 24 2018

She also placed three proposals at a high-level event on ‘Global Compact on Refugees: A Model for...

In celebration of Bangladesh

In celebration of Bangladesh

Shah Ali Farhad

Mon, Sep 24 2018

How the country has transformed over the last 10 years

Cate Blanchett: ‘Nothing prepared me...

Cate Blanchett: ‘Nothing prepared me...

D2

Wed, Aug 29 2018

Blanchett requested support for the refugees and Bangladeshi host communities, saying: “We have...

LP gas phases out use of firewood in...

LP gas phases out use of firewood in...

Nation

Tue, Aug 28 2018

Bangladesh’s government and NGOs are replacing the fuel sources of more than a million...

Locals unhappy as Rohingya population...

Locals unhappy as Rohingya population...

Nation

Mon, Aug 27 2018

Currently, more than one million Rohingyas are living in the southeastern district

Indoor air pollution a huge problem...

Indoor air pollution a huge problem...

Nation

Mon, Aug 27 2018

About 3.8 million deaths from illness every year are attributable to use of solid fuels and kerosene...

A year on

A year on

Editorial

Sat, Aug 25 2018

The world should be ashamed for its inaction thus far

The one year mark of the Rohingya...

The one year mark of the Rohingya...

Farah Kabir

Sat, Aug 25 2018

It is time to take stock of where we stand

Rohingya repatriations yet to begin...

Rohingya repatriations yet to begin...

Foreign Affairs

Fri, Aug 17 2018

UN Security Council to hold an open briefing on August 28, as international community remains...

Helping refugees proves labour of love...

Helping refugees proves labour of love...

Europe

Fri, Jul 20 2018

Germany expects to spend around €78 billion on migration-related issues through 2022, with social...

Were the Rohingya massacres...

Were the Rohingya massacres...

Magazine

Thu, Jul 12 2018

On the afternoon of Wednesday, August 23, I sat anxiously in Buthidaung office, tapping my

Rohingya minor gang-raped near Kutupalong...

Rohingya minor gang-raped near Kutupalong...

Crime

Tue, Jul 10 2018

The victim's family has started a case against the perpetrators

Lives washed away

Lives washed away

Editorial

Sun, Jul 8 2018

More shelters need to be built to house vulnerable families

Infographic: World’s displaced hits...

Infographic: World’s displaced hits...

World

Wed, Jul 4 2018

Nearly 69 million people worldwide – the highest number ever recorded – were forcibly displaced...

Running out of excuses

Running out of excuses

Opinion

Tue, Jul 3 2018

It is well past time for the international community to take a hard line

Dhaka to host five foreign dignitaries...

Dhaka to host five foreign dignitaries...

Foreign Affairs

Sun, Jul 1 2018

Over 700,000 people fled to Bangladesh after the atrocities carried out by Myanmar army from August...

Sting blasts leaders as 'cowards' over...

Sting blasts leaders as 'cowards' over...

D2

Mon, Jun 25 2018

Sting told Reuters the family separation policy was 'brutal' and 'barbaric'